Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Can i use the following ram upgraade in Predator Helios 300 PH317-51

Jeremy7792Jeremy7792 Posts: 16Member Troubleshooter

Hi one final question to you experts out there as Acer failed to reply to my question by email a few weeks ago. I wish to upgrade my memory from factory 8Gb 2x4Gb   to 2x16Gb and I do not know which type to use. I am looking for the best and fastest and have narrowed it down to two types but am not sure which is the best and fastest and which will work. My choices are as follows Price is not the issue only performance

Corsair CMSX32GX4M2A2666C18 Vengeance 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 2666Mhz 204 Pin SODIMM

or one of these

Crucial 32GB Kit (2 x 16GB) DDR4-2400 SODIMM

Crucial 32GB Kit (2 x 16GB) DDR4-2666 SODIMM

once again to all that made suggestions on my SSD cloning issue many thanks they were a great help

Best Answers

  • JackEJackE Posts: 13,423 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    Yep, anything faster than 2.4GHz should work OK. Jack E/NJ
  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,160 High-End Contributor
    edited December 2018 Accepted Answer
    Well in the model i have Acer told me i can only use 2400 as i have model 

    Acer Predator PH317-51-720W

    Not always what it say's its the true what they say in the specs it's what it was tested with not the max that would support same as mobiles when they say it will only support for ex up to 32gb sdcard and i have 64gb same situation with ram and hdd/ssd's on laptops and you can see most of the H300 already come with 8gb 2666 not 2400 its the same mobo but hey if you want to stay with what acer says its fine with me :p i just stated that it supports because if my older G3-572 supports all the newer models will also support


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join/follow the H300 fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https//www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


FAQ & Answers

  • JackEJackE Posts: 13,423ACE Trailblazer
    The crucial dot com recommendations are guaranteed by them to work. Jack E/NJ
  • Jeremy7792Jeremy7792 Posts: 16Member Troubleshooter
    Hi JackE, thanks for your reply, however Cosair is also guaranteed and i just wondered if i could use DDR 2666 instead of the 2400 SODIMMS
  • JackEJackE Posts: 13,423ACE Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    Yep, anything faster than 2.4GHz should work OK. Jack E/NJ
  • MavorsMavors Posts: 1Member New User
    @Jeremy7792 I don't mean to bring up an older thread, but I've been looking up the RAM model number you provided and it comes up as a 260 pin set, but you wrote 204.  Which is correct? Do you have a link you can provide?

    Thanks!
  • JackEJackE Posts: 13,423ACE Trailblazer
    DDR4Laptop is 260 pin. Jack E/NJ
  • Jeremy7792Jeremy7792 Posts: 16Member Troubleshooter
    Thanks uys for all the help, i can only use 2400 SODIMM and i choose the Kingston Hyper X 2x8Gb matched. My first choice Cosair failed to reply to my query after writing twice, so in the end i bought my second choice and everytthing works fine. Even better was the lifetime product guarantee that comes with the memory, and the automatic overclocking without having to touch the bios. I can thoroughly recommend this upgrade to anyone thinking along these lines to upgrade memory.
  • CharlieS1971CharlieS1971 Posts: 1Member New User
    Jeremy7792 said:
    Thanks uys for all the help, i can only use 2400 SODIMM and i choose the Kingston Hyper X 2x8Gb matched. My first choice Cosair failed to reply to my query after writing twice, so in the end i bought my second choice and everytthing works fine. Even better was the lifetime product guarantee that comes with the memory, and the automatic overclocking without having to touch the bios. I can thoroughly recommend this upgrade to anyone thinking along these lines to upgrade memory.
    Jeremy, 
    I just purchased this laptop for myself and RAM was the first thing on my mind to upgrade. 
    Can you send me the link to what worrie out for you? 
    Did you end up with 32Gb?

    Thanks
    SSG(RET) Charlie S
  • JackEJackE Posts: 13,423ACE Trailblazer
    Jeremy7792>>> i choose the Kingston Hyper X 2x8Gb matched.>>> 

    You can also go to crucial dot com for specs on compatible DDR4 modules 2400MHz or faster, preferrably a matched pair. Jack E/NJ

  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,160Member High-End Contributor
    Jeremy7792 said:
    Thanks uys for all the help, i can only use 2400 SODIMM and i choose the Kingston Hyper X 2x8Gb matched. My first choice Cosair failed to reply to my query after writing twice, so in the end i bought my second choice and everytthing works fine. Even better was the lifetime product guarantee that comes with the memory, and the automatic overclocking without having to touch the bios. I can thoroughly recommend this upgrade to anyone thinking along these lines to upgrade memory.
    Jeremy, 
    I just purchased this laptop for myself and RAM was the first thing on my mind to upgrade. 
    Can you send me the link to what worrie out for you? 
    Did you end up with 32Gb?

    Thanks
    SSG(RET) Charlie S
    32gb Hyperx 2666 here :)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join/follow the H300 fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https//www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • Jeremy7792Jeremy7792 Posts: 16Member Troubleshooter
           https://www.amazon.de/dp/B0722Q3243/ref=cm_sw_r_em_tai_d5AeCbCBQYQNCCharlieS1971 said:
    Jeremy7792 said:
    Thanks uys for all the help, i can only use 2400 SODIMM and i choose the Kingston Hyper X 2x8Gb matched. My first choice Cosair failed to reply to my query after writing twice, so in the end i bought my second choice and everytthing works fine. Even better was the lifetime product guarantee that comes with the memory, and the automatic overclocking without having to touch the bios. I can thoroughly recommend this upgrade to anyone thinking along these lines to upgrade memory.
    Jeremy, 
    I just purchased this laptop for myself and RAM was the first thing on my mind to upgrade. 
    Can you send me the link to what worrie out for you? 
    Did you end up with 32Gb?

    Thanks
    SSG(RET) Charlie S
    Jeremy7792 said:
    Thanks uys for all the help, i can only use 2400 SODIMM and i choose the Kingston Hyper X 2x8Gb matched. My first choice Cosair failed to reply to my query after writing twice, so in the end i bought my second choice and everytthing works fine. Even better was the lifetime product guarantee that comes with the memory, and the automatic overclocking without having to touch the bios. I can thoroughly recommend this upgrade to anyone thinking along these lines to upgrade memory.
    Jeremy, 
    I just purchased this laptop for myself and RAM was the first thing on my mind to upgrade. 
    Can you send me the link to what worrie out for you? 
    Did you end up with 32Gb?

    Thanks
    SSG(RET) Charlie S
    Jeremy7792 said:
    Thanks uys for all the help, i can only use 2400 SODIMM and i choose the Kingston Hyper X 2x8Gb matched. My first choice Cosair failed to reply to my query after writing twice, so in the end i bought my second choice and everytthing works fine. Even better was the lifetime product guarantee that comes with the memory, and the automatic overclocking without having to touch the bios. I can thoroughly recommend this upgrade to anyone thinking along these lines to upgrade memory.
    Jeremy, 
    I just purchased this laptop for myself and RAM was the first thing on my mind to upgrade. 
    Can you send me the link to what worrie out for you? 
    Did you end up with 32Gb?

    Thanks
    SSG(RET) Charlie S
    Hi, I used 2x8 matched from Amazon and as you can only use 2400 sodimms i have these and they are great 
    https://www.amazon.de/dp/B0722Q3243/ref=cm_sw_r_em_tai_d5AeCbCBQYQNC
  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,160Member High-End Contributor
           https://www.amazon.de/dp/B0722Q3243/ref=cm_sw_r_em_tai_d5AeCbCBQYQNCCharlieS1971 said:
    Jeremy7792 said:
    Thanks uys for all the help, i can only use 2400 SODIMM and i choose the Kingston Hyper X 2x8Gb matched. My first choice Cosair failed to reply to my query after writing twice, so in the end i bought my second choice and everytthing works fine. Even better was the lifetime product guarantee that comes with the memory, and the automatic overclocking without having to touch the bios. I can thoroughly recommend this upgrade to anyone thinking along these lines to upgrade memory.
    Jeremy, 
    I just purchased this laptop for myself and RAM was the first thing on my mind to upgrade. 
    Can you send me the link to what worrie out for you? 
    Did you end up with 32Gb?

    Thanks
    SSG(RET) Charlie S
    Jeremy7792 said:
    Thanks uys for all the help, i can only use 2400 SODIMM and i choose the Kingston Hyper X 2x8Gb matched. My first choice Cosair failed to reply to my query after writing twice, so in the end i bought my second choice and everytthing works fine. Even better was the lifetime product guarantee that comes with the memory, and the automatic overclocking without having to touch the bios. I can thoroughly recommend this upgrade to anyone thinking along these lines to upgrade memory.
    Jeremy, 
    I just purchased this laptop for myself and RAM was the first thing on my mind to upgrade. 
    Can you send me the link to what worrie out for you? 
    Did you end up with 32Gb?

    Thanks
    SSG(RET) Charlie S
    Jeremy7792 said:
    Thanks uys for all the help, i can only use 2400 SODIMM and i choose the Kingston Hyper X 2x8Gb matched. My first choice Cosair failed to reply to my query after writing twice, so in the end i bought my second choice and everytthing works fine. Even better was the lifetime product guarantee that comes with the memory, and the automatic overclocking without having to touch the bios. I can thoroughly recommend this upgrade to anyone thinking along these lines to upgrade memory.
    Jeremy, 
    I just purchased this laptop for myself and RAM was the first thing on my mind to upgrade. 
    Can you send me the link to what worrie out for you? 
    Did you end up with 32Gb?

    Thanks
    SSG(RET) Charlie S
    Hi, I used 2x8 matched from Amazon and as you can only use 2400 sodimms i have these and they are great 
    https://www.amazon.de/dp/B0722Q3243/ref=cm_sw_r_em_tai_d5AeCbCBQYQNC
    You can also use 2666


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join/follow the H300 fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https//www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • Jeremy7792Jeremy7792 Posts: 16Member Troubleshooter
    Well in the model i have Acer told me i can only use 2400 as i have model 

    Acer Predator PH317-51-720W

  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,160Member High-End Contributor
    edited December 2018 Accepted Answer
    Well in the model i have Acer told me i can only use 2400 as i have model 

    Acer Predator PH317-51-720W

    Not always what it say's its the true what they say in the specs it's what it was tested with not the max that would support same as mobiles when they say it will only support for ex up to 32gb sdcard and i have 64gb same situation with ram and hdd/ssd's on laptops and you can see most of the H300 already come with 8gb 2666 not 2400 its the same mobo but hey if you want to stay with what acer says its fine with me :p i just stated that it supports because if my older G3-572 supports all the newer models will also support


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join/follow the H300 fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https//www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • JackEJackE Posts: 13,423ACE Trailblazer
    Higher speed DDR4s are backward compatible with mainboards using slower speed DDR4s. This is usually the case with most RAM modules. Jack E/NJ
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online176

egydiocoelho
egydiocoelho
Hansihenser
Hansihenser
itstep
itstep
jomalig
jomalig
mediadoctor
mediadoctor
muditsharma
muditsharma
rdlf4
rdlf4
Sammisam
Sammisam
ven98
ven98
xapim
xapim
+166 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Announcements

Acer Community is now available in French! We are delighted to announce the addition of French to the list of supported languages in order to reach more users and expand on our mission to break the barriers between people and technology. You can access the French community from the drop down language menu located next to your username on the top right corner.


Participez aux discussions !

New Here?

Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Intel Extreme KAtowise 2019
Predator Join the forum discussions on our
Predator line of products.
Find out about the Acer ACE program.