Arch Linux on Acer Predator Helios 500

Options
kazetsukai
kazetsukai Member Posts: 2 New User
Hello there all, I purchased an Acer Predator Helios 500 yesterday exclusively for use under Linux. I'm going to use this thread/post to document my experience. 

Some basic questions out of the way:

WHY Linux:
I'm a developer that occasionally runs a game or two, Windows environments are crippleware for folks like me. The design goals of Windows is to hide from the user what's going on under the covers as much as possible, and what's under the covers is precisely what I'm interested in. You can look at this both ways : "But I have to use the command line to do something" vs "But I can just issue a command to do anything". Some people prefer the safe and rigid boundaries a GUI keeps you in, others prefer the limitless power of the prompt.

WHY Arch:
While I have nothing bad to say about alternatives, its minimalistic and really balances well. Beware that it has no GUI installer. 

What Works:
  • Booting and Installation.

I had to disable secure boot (and I think TPM for the nvme card) in the BIOS to get this booting, which oddly required setting a BIOS password. I guess that's understandable? On that topic, the Helios 500 BIOS is extremely basic and rudimentary by today's standards, not a plus in my book. Virtually everything is hidden from the user. If your nvme card doesn't show up, you're likely experiencing a security issue.

• Graphics, 3D, etc.

The 1070 is a fairly new card, so nouveau drivers are ineffective. Use the official nvidia driver... performance is amazing. I've never seen such a smooth desktop, ever. G-SYNC is enabled and works flawlessly. KMS, high res framebuffer console, etc all look good.

• Sound

Out of the box, loud, crisp, and deep- surprising for a laptop. Very good sound.

• Games!