How to disable the touch area on mouse buttons on my Laptop? Aspire E5-572G

mandarajo3d
mandarajo3d Member Posts: 11

Tinkerer

edited August 2023 in 2018 Archives

Everytime I try to click on the touchpad button then the mouse moves because the button is a touchpad.
For example: I want to click down the Copy in a menu, but when I release the button, then the mouse moves 3 cm away, it's on the Delete.
I'm reporting a problem about our product too.

I spent so many times solving that problem, I downloaded 2 different Synaptics Drivers but they didn't work.

People say to disable the touch area on mouse buttons on the Laptop:
Here is a link of an example of the same problem: https://superuser.com/questions/229489/disable-touch-pad-for-mouse-button-region-...
But the link above is for Windows 7, not for Windows 10, and my computer has Windows 10. Do you know how to solve that problem on Windows 10?
Maybe my Windows just doesn't have the Synaptics Touchpad Driver.

Here is a link of a Synaptic Website I didn't download yet: https://www.synaptics.com/resources
In that link, I did go to Drivers but I couldn't find any download button.

My system:
- Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
- Acer Notebook Aspire E5-572G

I tried to install the Touchpad Driver in the following Acer Website link: https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/support-product/5486?b=1 
But when I installed it then the problem is still not solved, I mean the Device Settings tab in the image below is still missing.

This is the missing tab on my Computer, there is no Device Settings with red icon on my computer:

Comments

  • brummyfan2
    brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 28,021 Trailblazer
    Hi,
    Could you please go to BIOS settings(press F2 at start), move to Main tab and check whether you have Advanced mode for the Touchpad, if you see Basic mode, click it and switch to Advanced mode, press F10 to save and exit.

  • mandarajo3d
    mandarajo3d Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    Thank you,

    There is not Touchpad option in my BIOS.
    I did go to my BIOS settings, and here is a screenshot in the Main tab, it's not exactly a screenshot because it's not possible to take a screenshot, but it is exactly what I saw in my BIOS:


    We are talking about BIOS, so can I update my BIOS? Can I download the "BIOS/Firmware (5)" Upgrade at https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/support-product/5486?b=1#_ga=2.177417958.236137690.1524210068-1543412020.1524210068
    But my question is: Which of the following files should I download in order to upgrade my BIOS and solve my problem about Touchpad?

  • brummyfan2
    brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 28,021 Trailblazer
    edited April 2018
    Hi,
    I don't think you need to update BIOS, I just wanted to see whether you have HID Compliant mouse in your laptop, could you please go to Device manager, Mice and other pointing Devices, highlight the touchpad and click Properties, go to Driver tab and find the current driver version and post. Also post the current BIOS version.
  • mandarajo3d
    mandarajo3d Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    edited April 2018
    I did go to Device Manager → Mice and other pointing devices
    → <There is no Touchpad> (I couldn't highlight it becaue it doesn't exist on my computer)
              Device Provider: ?
              Device Date: ?
              Device Version: ?
              Device Signer: ?
    → HID-compliant mouse → Properties → Driver tab
              Device Provider: Microsoft
              Device Date: 6/21/2006
              Device Version: 10.0.16299.15
              Device Signer: Microsoft Windows

    BIOS version:
    I did go to System Information → System Summary
    → BIOS Version/Date: Insyde Corp. V1.02, 8/1/2014
    → SMBIOS Version: 2.8
    → Embedded Controller Version: 1.02
    → BIOS Mode: Legacy
  • brummyfan2
    brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 28,021 Trailblazer
    Hi,
    You may have to update your BIOS, please take precaution while updating as it may brick your laptop, start from 1.03,1.04, 1,06 and finally 1.09 but don't update all at once, do one upgrade and run the laptop for a while and do the next update.
    While updating, the laptop may go silent for few seconds but do not touch any buttons or switch off the laptop, if you are going to do it, follow the steps below, if you are not confident, take it to a local repair shop and get it done by a technician.
    1.Go to Acer support and download the BIOS file, keep it in Desktop.
    2. Switch of any programs or applications.
    3. Disconnect any peripherals such as printer, USB sticks, headphones etc.
    4. Uninstall any third party AV programs.
    5. Make sure that no power cuts in your area( it's a chance you have to take).
    6. Select a time when other members in your household are not using the Internet.
    7. Make sure the battery is fully charged and AC adapter connected always during the update.
    8. Extract the downloaded BIOS to the Desktop.
    9. Right click the .exe file and select Run as Admin.
    10. Click OK for screen prompts.
    When the update finishes the laptop will reboot, so once the update starts, move away from the laptop and cross your fingers.
  • mandarajo3d
    mandarajo3d Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    You didn't mention the 1.02

    Do you mean I install by order as bellow (it's in the BIOS image I uploaded previously):
    1) 1.02: Update VBIOS You didn't mention this, can I install it? Because I will not be able to install it anymore if I ignore it.
    2) 1.03: Improved system performance
    3) 1.04: 1. Update VBIOS 2. Fix the external usb mouse can't wake up when the system resume from S3(lid close)
    4) 1.06: Add support Intel 3160/Intel 3165 Wifi-BT card.
    5) 1.09: Improve system performance
  • brummyfan2
    brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 28,021 Trailblazer
    Hi,
    You already have version 1.02, so you don't need to update to that version, start with 1.03, then 1.04, 1.06 and 1.09. Make sure to update to one version at a time and don't rush, once you updated run the laptop and monitor the behaviour.
  • mandarajo3d
    mandarajo3d Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    edited April 2018
    I already installed the 1.02. I didn't knew I shouldn't do.

    When I installed the 1.02 then the computer rebooted, and after the ACER boot logo, there is a text: "No bootable device". What should I do? ... I'm crying because I'm going to lose my Laptop :'(

    I did go to my BIOS settings and I saw the Boot Mode is already [UEFI], and the Secure Boot is [Enabled] and cannot be changed.

    Please help.

    I repeat: A text "No bootable device" appears on reboot, after the ACER logo. :'(
    I tried to Google: upgrading vbios no bootable device
    But I'm afraid.
  • mandarajo3d
    mandarajo3d Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    edited April 2018
    I changed the Boot Mode to [Legacy], and I rebooted then the following Windows blue screen appears
    Your PC ran into a problem : (
    Stop code: INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE

    Boot Mode [UEFI] is recommended by Microsoft on Windows 8 or above in order to enjoy the performances.
    I'm sorry for the smileys, I cannot edit it anymore.
  • mandarajo3d
    mandarajo3d Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    edited April 2018
    The stop code: INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE, is only on [Legacy] boot mode. But I want [UEFI] recommended by Microsoft.

    When I switch the Boot Mode from [UEFI] to [Legacy] then the following message appears in the BIOS settings:
    "Microsoft recommends executing Windows 8 and the version above under UEFI boot mode to enjoy the full features."

    But my Laptop doesn't support Windows 7, because the double click on Windows 7 never work in my Laptop. I must use Windows 10.

    So the conclusion is the message below appears (under UEFI boot mode) after reboot and after Acer logo:


  • brummyfan2
    brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 28,021 Trailblazer
    edited April 2018
    Hi,
    That's an advertisement, ignore it, you can do a clean install by downloading Windows 10 and install it in UEFI mode. Follow the instructions here:
    https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/1950-clean-install-windows-10-a.html
    This will delete all your data from the hard drive, so you better try the Repair install method from here:https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/16397-repair-install-windows-10-place-upgrade.html

  • mandarajo3d
    mandarajo3d Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    I solved the problem "No Bootable Device", when I installed the version 1.02, then I believe that the BIOS is upgraded anyway and it doesn't support anymore the partition type of the Disk, so the Disk becomes not bootable. ... And when I try to install Windows 10, then I must delete all the disk partitions, and I lost all the data in it, but fortunately I used Ubuntu (bootable USB) to recover my important files.

    I 100% believe that my VBIOS (Video BIOS) is upgraded with the version 1.02 because:
    - During the installation of Windows 10, the screen is 1920x1080 which was impossible with the old VBIOS (it was only 800x600 if I remember), I mean the VBIOS is fully upgraded, it's a Video BIOS.
    - And during the starting of Windows 10, the Acer logo is shown with the circular rotating loading dots.

    I will be back because I want to install all the BIOS updates, because I like them, the upgrade is so much.
  • mandarajo3d
    mandarajo3d Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    edited April 2018
    I solved the problem "No Bootable Device", when I installed the version 1.02, then I believe that the BIOS is upgraded anyway and it doesn't support anymore the partition type of the Disk, so the Disk becomes not bootable. ... And when I try to install Windows 10, then I must delete all the disk partitions, and I lost all the data in it, but fortunately I used Ubuntu (bootable USB) to recover my important files.

    I believe (100%) that my VBIOS (Video BIOS) is upgraded with the same version 1.02 because:
    - During the installation of Windows 10, the screen is 1920x1080 which was impossible with the old VBIOS (it was only 800x600 if I remember), I mean the VBIOS is fully upgraded, it's a Video BIOS.
    - And during the starting of Windows 10, the Acer logo is shown with the circular rotating loading dots.

    I will be right back because I want to install all the BIOS updates, because I like them, the upgrade is so much.
  • brummyfan2
    brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 28,021 Trailblazer
    Glad you got it sorted, well done and post the outcome :)
  • mandarajo3d
    mandarajo3d Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    I just want to say sorry because I didn't come back.
    All the BIOS [1.02], 1.03,1.04, 1,06 and 1.09 were fully upgraded. But the Touchpad option in BIOS settings is still missing.
    I tried to install again Touchpad Driver after BIOS update and then restart Windows but the tab Device Settings in Mouse Properties is still missing.
    My Windows is full of virus, and maybe that's the reason of that last problem?
    And I was downloading a Driverpack Solution 16 GB, and that's the reason I didn't come back because these things were not done yet.
  • brummyfan2
    brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 28,021 Trailblazer
    Hi,
    You could backup all your important files to a external HDD and do a fresh install of Windows, it will remove any virus and your installation will be clean, on the other hand, you could get a professional help from a local repair shop and get it fixed if you don't want to send it for a service by Acer in your region. 
  • mandarajo3d
    mandarajo3d Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    edited May 2018
    Thank you, but I have a new problem, the Hard Disk Drive of my computer is not detected by showing "No Bootable Device" at boot. I opened the BIOS settings but the disk is "none".
    I used Ubuntu (bootable USB) but the disk is not detected in File Manager, and it doesn't show in the application named "Disk" (Disk Management).
    Cause of problem: <Unknown> because I used Windows normally during about 1 week, but before the end, the system didn't work correctly due to no detected disk and I hibernated it then I couldn't boot the computer anymore "No Bootable Device" at boot.

    I created a new discussion about my Disk problem, but my post don't show in the Member Lounge forum.

    Sorry if I will be late to reply because the computer I'm using now is not my computer.