image

s7-392 hard disk failure (again)

matttrickmatttrick Member Posts: 10

Tinkerer

This happened once right before my warranty was up. Device would randomly blue screen and reboot to the no disk error, but if i power off and on it boots to windows, then i get the intel storage warning that one of the raid disks has failed. I know they are virtual disks. Acer fixed it last time, although I am unsure if they replaced the drive or just redid the raid and reinstalled.

So my question is what should I do? Do I try to rebuild the raid, install the OS again, OR take a disk image and load it to a new SSD? How can I tell if this is hardware or software? 

Some stuff from system info:

System Information report written at: 03/06/18 19:08:15
[System Summary]

Item Value
OS Name Microsoft Windows 10 Home
Version 10.0.16299 Build 16299
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Manufacturer Acer
System Model S7-392
System Type x64-based PC
System SKU S7-392_0817_2.12
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4500U CPU @ 1.80GHz, 2401 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Insyde Corp. V2.12, 5/20/2014
SMBIOS Version 2.7
Embedded Controller Version 1.09
BIOS Mode UEFI
BaseBoard Manufacturer Acer
BaseBoard Model Not Available
BaseBoard Name Base Board
Platform Role Mobile
Secure Boot State Off
PCR7 Configuration Elevation Required to View
Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume2
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "10.0.16299.248"
User Name MATTYFRESH\Acer
Time Zone Eastern Standard Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 7.90 GB
Available Physical Memory 4.26 GB
Total Virtual Memory 9.15 GB
Available Virtual Memory 5.30 GB
Page File Space 1.25 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
Device Encryption Support Elevation Required to View
Hyper-V - VM Monitor Mode Extensions Yes
Hyper-V - Second Level Address Translation Extensions Yes
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware Yes
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection Yes

[Drives]

Item Value
Drive C:
Description Local Fixed Disk
Compressed No
File System NTFS
Size 224.97 GB (241,560,449,024 bytes)
Free Space 44.91 GB (48,217,931,776 bytes)
Volume Name Windows
Volume Serial Number 90BC52A6

[Disks]

Item Value
Description Disk drive
Manufacturer (Standard disk drives)
Model Intel Raid 0 Volume
Bytes/Sector 512
Media Loaded Yes
Media Type Fixed hard disk
Partitions 4
SCSI Bus 0
SCSI Logical Unit 0
SCSI Port 0
SCSI Target ID 1
Sectors/Track 63
Size 238.48 GB (256,061,191,680 bytes)
Total Cylinders 31,131
Total Sectors 500,119,515
Total Tracks 7,938,405
Tracks/Cylinder 255
Partition Disk #0, Partition #0
Partition Size 600.00 MB (629,145,600 bytes)
Partition Starting Offset 1,048,576 bytes
Partition Disk #0, Partition #1
Partition Size 300.00 MB (314,572,800 bytes)
Partition Starting Offset 630,194,176 bytes
Partition Disk #0, Partition #2
Partition Size 224.97 GB (241,560,453,120 bytes)
Partition Starting Offset 1,078,984,704 bytes
Partition Disk #0, Partition #3
Partition Size 12.50 GB (13,425,967,104 bytes)
Partition Starting Offset 242,639,437,824 bytes

[SCSI]

Item Value
Name Microsoft Storage Spaces Controller
Manufacturer Microsoft
Status OK
PNP Device ID ROOT\SPACEPORT\0000
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\spaceport.sys (10.0.16299.192, 557.90 KB (571,288 bytes), 1/5/2018 8:58 PM)
Name Intel(R) Mobile Express Chipset SATA RAID Controller
Manufacturer Intel Corporation
Status OK
PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_282A&SUBSYS_08171025&REV_04\3&11583659&0&FA
I/O Port 0x00003088-0x0000308F
I/O Port 0x00003094-0x00003097
I/O Port 0x00003080-0x00003087
I/O Port 0x00003090-0x00003093
I/O Port 0x00003060-0x0000307F
Memory Address 0xB051D000-0xB051D7FF
IRQ Channel IRQ 4294967293
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\iastora.sys (12.8.0.1016, 629.85 KB (644,968 bytes), 8/7/2013 4:23 PM)

FAQ & Answers

  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 40,671 Trailblazer
    Simply F2 into the BIOS menu. Does the INFO tab fully describe the HDD? Jack E/NJ


    Jack E/NJ
  • matttrickmatttrick Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    Yes, it shows the "two" kingston drives
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 40,671 Trailblazer
    >>>Device would randomly blue screen and reboot to the no disk error, but if i power off and on it boots to windows, then i get the intel storage warning that one of the raid disks has failed. >>>

    Yes, this is troubling. To me it suggests an impending SSD failure. As a first order check, have you tried running SFC yet? And if you don't have a raid-specific checker, can you possibly remove each SSD and check them separately on another machine? Jack E/NJ

    Jack E/NJ
  • matttrickmatttrick Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    It's actually one drive in a raid configuration. It's also msata so I can't plug it into another machine without an adapter. I will try running sfc tonight, but that has to do with Windows files. The fact that after it crashes there is no device detected before windows loads makes me suspect the raid configuration or the hardware, not so much the OS. I think tonight my goal is run sfc and take an acronis backup
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 40,671 Trailblazer
    Then simply try manually error-checking through the drive's properties box. Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • matttrickmatttrick Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    Ok so I did the disk repair, it didn't seem to work. Went through and got to a reboot and had to startup repair, didn't seem to actually resolve the errors. I am taking a full backup now. My next steps I am thinking I would like to recreate the raid, install windows, and see if it comes back. Some questions on raids/backups:

    I took a system image from within windows. If I delete the raid and recreate it, can i restore from the windows backup? I don't think I will do this but it's nice to know if I can go back.

    Any other concerns before I go wiping the raid config? If it persists I will likely replace the drive.
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 40,671 Trailblazer
    Are you using a single drive raid mainly for its alleged cache/speed value? Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • matttrickmatttrick Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    That's just how it was out of the box. I did consider just moving on without the raid. Think it's a better idea?
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 40,671 Trailblazer
    Well it seems to have two m.2 slots to support a usual raid configuration with 2 separate drives for redundancy. A single drive raid might be used for speed-increasing cache but obviously not redundancy. With a single m.2 SSD, might not be a noticeable difference. AHCI mode might be simpler. Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • matttrickmatttrick Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    Interesting, I thought it was one drive in there partitioned into two for raid purposes. When I opened it I only saw one. I will double check that tonight when I go home. I really appreciate all of your assistance by the way
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 40,671 Trailblazer
    It may indeed have only one m.2 drive but seems to have two m.2 slots for two separate m.2 drives. Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • matttrickmatttrick Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    There is only one slot and one drive. It appears, and some googling seems to confirm, that the drive is double sided. So it's one drive in one slot but sort of two drives in one, RAIDed. So I think as long as I keep this drive I need to keep the raid configuration. Does that make sense?

    I am thinking wipe the raid, recreate it, install windows, see if the problem persists. If so replace the drive. Right approach?
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 40,671 Trailblazer
    OK. That RAID setup makes sense if it's for redundancy, not speed.  The SSDs are plenty fast enough. Good luck. Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online532

AshleeBeltran
AshleeBeltran
brummyfan2
brummyfan2
Cyriix
Cyriix
Halflink
Halflink
Kno63
Kno63
leonaip
leonaip
NitroBoost
NitroBoost
Silver_Light
Silver_Light
Tobirr
Tobirr
Vagabound
Vagabound
+522 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers