LAPTOP HELP!

Options
ibrahimk
ibrahimk Member Posts: 2 New User
edited March 2023 in 2017 Archives
Hello. I'm looking to buy a laptop that will be good for light gaming and for programming software as I'm majoring in digital forensics. I don't know what computer to get, let alone the brand. Any suggestions would be great. 

Comments

• ibrahimk
    ibrahimk Member Posts: 2 New User
    Options
    My price range is under 1,000
  • Mr_Morningstar
    Mr_Morningstar Member Posts: 11

Tinkerer

Options
    ibrahimk said:
    Hello. I'm looking to buy a laptop that will be good for light gaming and for programming software as I'm majoring in digital forensics. I don't know what computer to get, let alone the brand. Any suggestions would be great. 
    "Light gaming" can be interpreted a variety of ways, I'm sure you understand, so might want to be a bit more specific with your inquiry :)

For most games though, except the select few out there, they're mostly going to be GPU intensive, so that would be your primary concern, and then a reasonably robust CPU (quad core of course) should round out the rest. There's a few games out there (i.e., Cities Skylines, Hitman, COD: IW) that will lean heavily to your CPU, but again a solid quad core with hyper threading and turbo boost from Intel should suffice very well, as well as any other common task performed on something with a laptop form factor.

Considering you're looking into a laptop, size is limited, as are upgrade options, so whatever set of guts you have likely aren't going to be upgradeable. This means the GPU and CPU combo you have is what you likely will always have to work with for as long as you use the unit, but there's a workaround for that we'll cover in a bit.