Helios 300 pre purchase questions

Podagrower
Podagrower Member Posts: 2 New User
edited March 2023 in 2017 Archives

I'm not a gamer (okay, I play Postal), I'm not an IT expert, I know just enough about computers to screw things up really good.  I'm looking at the G3-571-77QK model (15.6 monitor, 256 GB SSD).  I didn't know I was looking for a new laptop until Windows murdered my old one over the weekend, and wow have things changed in 6 years.  

How is the hard drive partitioned in these laptops?  My last laptop had a 500GB HDD with a small boot partition (80GB?) C drive and the rest was storage D drive.  I was forever fighting with programs that default to the C drive for installation (even when you install them on the D drive) and that probably had a lot to do with that laptop dyeing.  Is the SSD partitioned into 2 drives or just 1?  If it is 2 partitions, is there a way to make 1 big, happy C drive out of the whole 256GB (since I still have the 500GB, 7200RPM hard drive from my old laptop I could reformat and have a decent size D drive)? 

Best Answer

• Flx
    Flx Member Posts: 466 Seasoned Practitioner WiFi Icon
    Answer ✓

You're welcome! The fan type doesn't make a difference, I have plastic fans and my laptop stays cool just fine. Not worth buying one over another IMO (seems like a marketing gimmick to be perfectly honest). The 1060 is extremely strong, within 10% of the desktop version so there's 0 need to overclock for the average user.

Answers

• Flx

Mine is set up like this:

100mb - EFI partition

237.35 GB - Primary/boot partition (C:\)

1.00 GB - Recovery

Hope that helps

And yes you should be able to re-use your old hard drive. The laptop comes with all the mounting hardware you need, access is just 1 screw to remove 1 cover.

• Podagrower
    Podagrower Member Posts: 2 New User

Thanks for that answer, now I've got 2 more questions.