Model V5-471

ACERV5471
ACERV5471 Member Posts: 9

Tinkerer

edited March 2023 in 2017 Archives

Okay,

Installed Windows 10 on ACER Laptop V5-471 about a year ago and all was fine until Anniversary Edition came out and I can't install it. I tried all the tips from Microsoft but they won't work. While installing I get no errors, but after many, many hours of trying I have to turn Laptop off and it reverts back to old version of Win 10. I called ACER and got sent to third party support who told me my model WON'T support Win 10 and was surprized it ran at all. They won't tell me why.

I've been buying computers since the 1980's and I've never seen a computer that ONLY supported one Operating System. I don't want to go back to the Horrible Win 8.1, if this is my only option I will NEVER BUY another ACER PC again.

Is there a FIX to run Windows 10 Anniversary Edition on this PC?

Thanks

Answers

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,663 Trailblazer

The third party support people were not wording it right for you. What they were supposed to say was that Acer wasn't providing new drivers for Windows 10. Typically that was because the Windows 10 drivers worked out of the box, so they didn't need to do new ones. Acer published a list of models they were doing drivers for and there was a lot of confusion because of it.

What diagnostics have you done in regards to the Anniversary update? Does it throw errors into the event logs or into the update logs? Have you verified you have enough room for the update? I have seen at least one machine that took almost 36 hours to do the update, but it did succeed when left long enough...

Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • ACERV5471

Tinkerer

Thanks for reply,

Before I continue trying to load V 1607

ACER C: has 387 GB open

Event log has tons of error messages from yesterday when I tried to install. Can't see how I can attach those files to this note.

thanks

• billsey