Aspire 5600: Loops into eRecovery on boot

Options
Raart
Raart Member Posts: 7 New User

I'd like to revive this laptop with its original Acer factory install.

By switching the laptop on, the Acer image appears, with F2 and F12 options, then Windows XP start image is shown followed by eRecovery-Management-Environment load messages.

After few seconds the manager opens with two active options only (I translate from my localisation):

1. System recovery from predefined setup

2. System recovery from CD/DVD

I have no backup CD/DVDs so by selecting the first option, a copy of Windows xp o.s. is indeed transfered from PQSERVICE to Acer partition.

I've checked this by deleting the content of the Acer partition and then running the recovery process.

Therefore, on reboot, the eRecovery manager is loaded again.

No chance to come out of this loop.

Any ideas?

I'm an experienced SW programmer and feel comfortable by putting my fingers into system's meanders so far I understand what I'm doing. ;-)

Best Answer

• Raart
    Answer ✓
    Options

Thanks Jack for the hints.

Finally I could convince the laptop to work like Acer designed.

It was a problem with the MBR being broken for unknown reasons.

I had to search a copy of the original ACER MBR (it can be found in the hidden PQSERVICE partition' root) and write it over the actual one.

That's it.

Answers

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,623 Trailblazer
    Options

>>>Windows xp o.s. is indeed transfered from PQSERVICE to Acer partition. I've checked this by deleting the content of the Acer partition and then running the recovery process.>>>

What process was used to clean/delete the system partition?

Jack E/NJ 

Jack E/NJ

• Raart
    Options

I've transfered the HD to another PC (with Windows XP on it) and directly deleted the files by the use of windows-explorer.

This to leave the partitions untouched.

Regards.

• JackE
    Options