I have an Acer Iconia A-1 813. During the Setup, I could not connect to my Network.

Options
814eddy
814eddy Member Posts: 3 New User

This is my first Tablet, however, I have at least 30 years of experience with computers and at least 3 differernt OS platforms. I received my Iconia A-1 818 yesterday and charged it for 4hours as directed. I then began the initial setup. When I got to the second step which was to connect to a WiFi network, I selected my Home Network, as I have done with other devices. I entered my passphrase and waited, expecting the Tablet to connect. Instead, it wasn't able to make a connection, so I canceled out of it and tried it again. Actually, I tried at least four times, but in each case, the Tablet would not make the connection to my network. I have a CISCO E2000 N Router by the way. 

I was going to skip this step and move on, but a popup window appeared and sort of suggested against not completing the WiFi hookup. So, I tried it again and the same thing happened. At that point, I stopped and shut the Tablet off .

I am at work now, but will try this again when I get home in a few hours. I am going to open my router's config file and add the MAC address of the Tablet to it, as I have done for other devices. After saving the Router's config file, I will try again to connect to it with the network with the Tablet. I don't know if this will work or not, so if there is a better solution and someone can share it with me, I'd appreciate it. I've been looking forward to using this Tablet, so I hope I didn't make a mistake in choosing this particular model. I have read some other discussions related to other Acer Tablets whose owners were having similar issues, so I hope my experience isn't going to be as complicated as those that I have read about.

Answers

• Kyler
    Kyler Member Posts: 66

Tinkerer

Options

Is your router in dual band mode? If so, try it on single band.