how to make sure the V7-582PG 20GB SSD is doing its job

Options
kirkers
kirkers Member Posts: 8 New User

Greetings everyone,

I'm new to Acer but not to Windows PCs -- built desktops in the 1990s and have been inside a few laptops and netbooks in my time.

I am new to SSDs, however.  I have read a bit about them but never actually dealt with SSD drives or mSATA chips.

I am seriously considering purchasing the V7-582PG, which comes with both a "booster" SSD and a touch-screen. The touch-screen is also new to me for PCs, but I've been using smartphones for awhile now.  From what I can tell, Windows 8 is difficult to negotiate in places without a touchscreen, and I am fairly confident this is the direction in which computers and other devices are moving in any event, whatever becomes of Windows and Microsoft.

From what I could tell from talking to the Acer Online Store representative over the phone, and from what I have read elsewhere online, Acer tech support will likely be of limited use.  That is not exactly surprising, and I have been left to my own devices most of the time due to technical limitations and legal loopholes in warranties offered by HP, Dell, Lenovo and Toshiba.  So that alone will not stop me from going with Acer, as long as I can get some clear answers (in words if not pictures) to find my way through challenges like configuring the SSD and its drivers.

So..., after that somewhat long-winded introduction, can the "Acer Technician" Tommy or anyone else here post clear directions on how to make sure the 20GB SSD is doing its job?  I know this thread has been quiet for several months, but perhaps someone will see my post and respond.