Boot Mode cannot be toggled acer Aspire 5 A515-54

jeron
jeron Member Posts: 21 Networker
edited April 2021 in Aspire Laptops
Hi newbie here I have acer Aspire 5 A515-54-51DI .BIOS Version InsydeH20 Setup Utility Rev. 5.0 currently updated it to ZAW_121.exe. The thing is I already update it but when I go to boot part in BIOS the Boot Mode cannot be toggled to UEFI or LEGACY , its like greyed out or something .I want to upgrade it to Windows 10 Pro . My Current set up is on Microsoft Windows 10 Home  and my System Partition is on Disk 0 is on GUID Partition Table (GPT).

Best Answer

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,330 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    These are fairly common issues when switching from ACER WinHome version. If you can get online with wired ethernet to the router, download, install & run iobit's DriverBooster freeware to see if it will pick up any wifi & touchpad drivers that are better suited the the WinPro environment. Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ

Answers

• JackE
    Stay in UEFI mode with GPT disk0. Enable F12 boot option in BIOS Main tab. Then insert USB WinPro installation stick. Turn machine on and press F12 to bring up menu to boot from the WinPro installation USB  Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ

• jeron
    JackE said:
    Stay in UEFI mode with GPT disk0. Enable F12 boot option in BIOS Main tab. Then insert USB WinPro installation stick. Turn machine on and press F12 to bring up menu to boot from the WinPro installation USB  Jack E/NJ
    Hi jack I think I know what's the problem my windows bootable device (Windows 10 Pro )its in a format of MBR. Maybe I need to change this to GPT. 
  • JackE
    How did you prepare the WinPro installation device? If a USB stick, use Rufus to prepare the WinPro installation iso file also for UEFI bootstrap laptop. Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ

• jeron
    JackE said:
    How did you prepare the WinPro installation device? If a USB stick, use Rufus to prepare the WinPro installation iso file also for UEFI bootstrap laptop. Jack E/NJ