Is it possible to install LInux on Travelmate TM8473T ?

DavideD
DavideD Member Posts: 6

Tinkerer

Has anyone managed (really!) to install any Linux distribution on a TM8473T? I have tried with recent Ubuntu, Lubuntu, Mint versions but the laptop freezes while booting from the USB stick. I have also tried t modify the "grub" file (nomodeset) but still the laptop does not boot. Please note that I am quite new with Linux... thanks for your help!

Answers

• Leostat
    Leostat ACE Posts: 3,043 Pathfinder
    Should be but may need some tweaks. I'd go with Ubuntu first then branch out if we can get it working. It may be a long one! 

First a couple of questions around what you are doing to better understand what you are looking at if that's ok :) 

Could I confirm which version of Ubuntu, and how you made the USB stick? 

When you say freezes , is there anything on the display, how far does it get, and is there any text?

Are you looking to dual boot, or just Nix? (Dual booting may cause issues)

And finally, what are the current bios settings for the disk mode / sata mode, and does the laptop have secure boot?

If any of that doesn't make sense don't worry about it , just mention and I will go through any of it :) 

• DavideD

Tinkerer

Hi! I have tried Mint 20.1 Cinnamom and xfce, Ubuntu 20.04 and Lubuntu 16.04. Starting in "compatibility mode" I see a lot of text and the freeze comes after mentioning something like "inserted autofs4".
    I would like to boot from USB in the first place to see how things work. Eventually I´d like to replace Windows 7. About BIOS I´m not sure...
    Now I´m thinking about ArchLinux or Zorin Lite.
  • DavideD

Tinkerer

And the USB stick was made with Rufus
  • Gawain
    Gawain Member Posts: 373 Seasoned Practitioner WiFi Icon
    maybe try it with something non-ubuntu derived,just to see.  MX linux with kde or xfce for a debian based OS without the intermediary ubuntu step, or Manjaro for something arch based.  
  • Leostat