Acer An515-42 Clean Install Guide

dclanz
dclanz Member Posts: 112 Skilled Fixer WiFi Icon
edited December 2023 in 2020 Archives
Hi all, without further ado (or delays) I present my Windows 10 clean install guide with a few optimization tips for the Nitro 5 An515-42 laptop:

Acer An515-42 Clean Install Guide by dclanz v.0.2

Disclaimer
I do not work for Acer, Microsoft or any other tech companies. I am just a technician and I've tried to optimize my laptop as best as I can to the best of my knowledge including that which has been shared by helpful users around the internet. That being said, this guide was written (while the steps were being followed) with the intent to aid users who wish to clean install Windows 10 on the Acer Nitro 5 Ryzen powered laptop. You, the reader, assumes any and all risks by following this guide in event that anything happens to your laptop. If you are comfortable with that then please, read on.

Requirements
1. Hardware: external storage, one 8GB or higher flash drive and a mouse as there will be no touchpad support until the drivers are installed.

2. Software: Download all official available drivers for the laptop at https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/support-product/7605?b=1&pn=NH.Q3RAA.002 (if your model varies then browse the website to locate the right version and download the drivers for your system), the latest microsoft certified drivers for the Radeon RX 560X/ Vega 8 graphic cards at https://www.catalog.update.microsoft.com/Search.aspx?q=rx 560x (sort by date and download the 23.20.826.8448 version which was released on the 20th of August 2018), 7zip available at http://www.7zip.org/ and finally the Microsoft Windows 10 media creation tool available at https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10 

Pre-Installation