Linux on the Aspire 3 A315-41-R3DQ

RCh001
RCh001 Member Posts: 8 New User
edited October 2023 in 2020 Archives
Hello all,

I recently bought a Acer Aspire 3 A315-41-R3DQ with a Ryzen 5 2500U and i'll share my adventure trying to install linux on this computer. First of all i must tell you that i've been using linux as a user for a few years but i'm not very techinical.

The computer came with Linpus Linux boot-up os and i tought that i could easilly install linux. First i tried to create a usb disk with Linpus but got a file differ error. Then i tried to boot Ubuntu 19.04 from a usb drive but i got several errors. After some search online i managed to boot Ubuntu with the "pci=noacpi" option on the grub menu. Everything worked fine and i tried to install Ubuntu to the HDD. In the last part of the instalation i got a error saying that Grub couldn't save on UEFI (i can't recall the exact words) and the installation was incomplete. When i rebooted the computer the only thing i got was a grub command line. I then tried to boot Manjaro and Fedora from usb drives but they weren't recognize on boot. The computer comes only with UEFI (no legacy mode) and disabling Secure Boot didn't help on any attempts.

Then i installed Windows 10 and updated the bios to the last version available (1.13) and tried to boot Ubuntu 19.04 from a USB drive: Ubuntu still only booted with the "pci=noacpi" option and the trackpad didn't worked. When i tried to install Ubuntu to the hard drive the "Grub can't save to UEFI" error still existed. This was my last attempt to install Linux on the Acer Aspire 3 A315-41-R3DQ and i'm now using Windows 10 on the computer.

If anyone knows how to install a linux os on this computer i would appreciate the help.

Answers

• MaClane
    MaClane ACE Posts: 35,598 Trailblazer
    Good evening RCh001 !

In the installation media you are using to install Linux, ISO is x64 bit and you are installing in UEFi compatibility mode?