Trying to figure out Swift SFX14-41G laptop RAM, chips supposed to be 32GB

Options
ThatKguy
ThatKguy Member Posts: 2 New User
edited July 4 in Swift and Spin Series

So I've been trying to figure out what RAM is in my laptop. I want to try to upgrade it. For starters, yes it's soldered on and yes I know it's a massive pain and risky to try to upgrade BGA soldered chips. I have some experience working with them and I'm willing to accept the risks.

I have a Swift x14 from 2021.
Model: Swift SFX14-41G

Both windows and my BIOS says that I have 16GB of RAM.

I opened the case to take a better look and found the chips.

Looking at the chip model on the board, it's K4UBE3D4AA-MGCR.
https://semiconductor.samsung.com/dram/lpddr/lpddr4x/k4ube3d4aa-mgcr/
https://www.lcsc.com/datasheet/lcsc_datasheet_2310241557_Samsung-K4UBE3D4AA-MGCL_C2920257.pdf

The problem is that when you check out the data sheet for those chips, they're supposed to be 32GB each, but I don't have 128GB of RAM so what's going on here?

Are the chips purposefully mislabeled? Are they being artificially throttled somewhere?

Looking for anyone that might have some answers.

[Edited the thread to add model name and issue detail to the title]

Best Answer

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 32,536 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    Options

Big difference between 32GB and 32Gb. :) Acer says only 8GB and 16GB are supported on the MB, so changing the 32Gb chips to 64Gb chips might not work, if they haven't populated all the address lines.

Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.

Answers

• billsey
    Answer ✓
    Options

Big difference between 32GB and 32Gb. :) Acer says only 8GB and 16GB are supported on the MB, so changing the 32Gb chips to 64Gb chips might not work, if they haven't populated all the address lines.

Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • ThatKguy
    ThatKguy Member Posts: 2 New User