Who can I file a complaint with regarding unresolved laptop issue. screen black and broken fan

Options
HR2024
HR2024 Member Posts: 2 New User
edited April 15 in Predator Laptops

I purchased two Acer predators for family members and within 9 months both screens are black and unresponsive and one of them also has a broken fan despite only playing it on a cold marble countertop for optimal ventilation. I contacted customer support bit instead of letting me utilize my warranties they suggested I try a myriad of troubleshooting techniques. I'm not tech savvy so it took me some time to try all those things and then try to get back to a live person instead of being told I've contacted the wrong department. When I finally get ahold of someone I'm told my warranty expired two weeks earlier so I wouldn't be receiving any help, despite explaining that I reported this with 3 months left on the warranty and not offered a real fix, but instead given a ton of homework that made no sense to me. Both computers still don't work and I'm still out $2500 plus on two laptops and have been refused help with every department I've contacted. Who else should I be contacting?

[Edited the thread to add issue detail]

Best Answer

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,555 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    Options

> >My question is who can I speak to to address this?> >

You can send a PM to one of the moderators for further guidance. Click on envelope symbol near top right. In the "TO" or recipient box, start typing Acer-, a popup should appear with available names like Acer-Ingrid.

Jack E/NJ

Answers

• JackE
    Options

> >Who else should I be contacting?> >

Black screens as you described are most often due to broken video cables near the hinge area from wear and tear of opening & closing the lids too much. A $20 part. If they were mine and needed out-of-warranty service, I'd contact a local laptop repair shop for an estimate.

Jack E/NJ

• HR2024
    HR2024 Member Posts: 2 New User
    Options