TC-885 desktop will not boot up, it said the CMOS battery was probably bad. Solution?

k6eid
k6eid Member Posts: 21 Networker
edited January 10 in Aspire and Veriton Desktops

I have been using this PC for a few years. Yesterday when I started it, I got the ACER opening screen with the info on F1 etc. After a very long while, it opened a DOS screen that said the CMOS battery was probably bad. Is there any way I can get it to boot up (getting around the CMOS problem)?

[Edited the thread to add issue detail]

Best Answer

• StevenGen
    StevenGen ACE Posts: 11,441 Trailblazer
    edited January 10 Answer ✓

Hey k6eid, you are never too old😂 to change a battery, as replacing this battery is really easy, I'm in my 70's and I can do this with my eyes closed🤣. First turn off the desktop and unplug the power cord from the mains power, open the side cover and follow the guide below.

Note: the RTC Battery in the caption below is the CMOS battery from the TC-885 desktop a KTS Lithium Battery type CR2032 which is a very common battery that you can buy at any good convince store. Once you remove the old battery you need to short the +&- pins of the battery case/plug on the mainboard to reset CMOS and then put the new battery into the case/plug, which is a very simple thing to do.

If this answers your question and solved your query please "Click on Yes" or "Click on Like" if you find my answer useful👍

Answers

• Larryodie
    Larryodie Member Posts: 1,567 Community Aficionado WiFi Icon

Why not install a new battery ?

• k6eid

Im pretty old and am leery about messing with the insides of the PC.

• StevenGen
    StevenGen ACE Posts: 11,441 Trailblazer
    edited January 10 Answer ✓

Hey k6eid, you are never too old😂 to change a battery, as replacing this battery is really easy, I'm in my 70's and I can do this with my eyes closed🤣. First turn off the desktop and unplug the power cord from the mains power, open the side cover and follow the guide below.