C871/C712 Chromebook does not turn on

Options
MDthetechguy
MDthetechguy Member Posts: 2 New User
edited November 2023 in Chromebooks

Hello I am a tech for a Washington area School district and we have purchased a large amount of the Acer C871/C712 Chromebooks. We are very consistently seeing issues where the Chromebook will not turn on and shows no power indicator. We have tried new batteries, daughterboards and ribbon cables. Also have tries all of the different reset option with button presses along with unscrewing grounding screws. We have had them replaced by Acer while under warranty but we never had a admittance that there is an issue with this model of Chromebook. Now that they are no longer under warranty we just have to surplus hundreds of Chromebooks for no apparent reason which is very costly. Has anyone else experienced this? Or have a fix for this?

[Edited the thread to add issue detail]

Answers

• Ryan21
    Ryan21 Member Posts: 1 New User
    Options

Hello I have just started being made aware of the same issue here at my school district in Illinois. We purchase several hundred or the Acer C871 series. I am being told we are getting several a day in that just do not want to power on. The onsite Chromebook support has just made me aware that he is having this issue. He said that he leaves them on charger for couple hours that does nothing. Then when he leaves them sit overnight just in a cabinet when he opens them the next day to check them some of them just turn on and seem to be okay again. It is weird and not making sense to me. I told him I would do some digging and see if anyone else has a similar issue and what I could find out. We just got ours the start of this school year so we need to get 4 years out of these and now I am worried. If someone has a fix or knows what is going on with this model and what can be done it would be greatly appreciated.

• MDthetechguy
    MDthetechguy Member Posts: 2 New User
    Options