Acer Predator Helios 16 CPU overheating. (PH16-71)when playing games on turbo or performance mode.

Options
zane1345
zane1345 Member Posts: 8

Tinkerer

edited December 2023 in Predator Laptops

Hi, there this is my first time posting here. My helios 16 really starts to heat up sometimes when playing games on turbo or performance mode. I have an i9-13900HX and have the latest bios.

Also I got this laptop as an replacement for a 2022 Helios 300 because even that had issues with its gpu not performing up to its mark.

Any suggestions ?

[Edited the thread to add issue detail]

Answers

• GAMING6698
    GAMING6698 ACE Posts: 6,353 Pathfinder
    edited July 2023
    Options

If system overheat then fps will drop and cause lag and stutters. Some laptops need to apply new good quality thermal paste as default one is not very good but it can also occur if room temperature is high. In hot countries you need to optimize you settings for good experience and sometimes if everything is fine its still heat due to room temperature.

Follow these below steps-

1) Follow this windows optimization guide- Windows 10/11 optimization guide for gaming — Acer Community

2) Limit fps from Nvidia Control panel to your desire value like 60,100, etc can greatly help to reduce temperatures

Crafting a DIY Solution

1. Prop the laptop up with books around the sides to reduce heat. Grab stack of 2-4 books that are equally thick. Slide the spine of a book 2–3 inches (5.1–7.6 cm) under the right side of the laptop. Do the same on the left side of the laptop. If you want to stabilize the laptop further, you can slide another book under the back or the front of the laptop.
    2. This will create some space between the bottom of the laptop and the surface it’s resting on. This space will make it easier for the heat to dissipate from the base of the laptop when it gets hot.