Is the predator orion 3000 upgradable up to i9 setup?

Options
Arthas
Arthas Member Posts: 13

Tinkerer

i can’t find any predator orion 5000 or 7000 in my country. What are their difference?

Best Answers

  • GotBanned
    GotBanned Member Posts: 621 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    Answer ✓
    Options

    I have not seen anyone do this, but at least in theory it should be possible. See the thread below.

    If you do this, please share your experience with the forum. Personally I would not even try this, because the cooling will most likely be insufficient ⇒ the CPU will throttle under full load and render the upgrade pointless.

  • GotBanned
    GotBanned Member Posts: 621 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    edited June 2023 Answer ✓
    Options

    If you really want to have i9 in this small box, you can replace the original cooler with something like Noctua NH-U9S.

    Below is a link to Noctua's site that tells which i9s are supported. I'd pick a 12th gen CPU that will be supported with "Best turbo/overclocking headroom" by the cooler. Unfortunately I can't tell if i9s will work on your motherboard (possible BIOS issues) or is the U9S enough to keep the CPU from throttling.

    https://ncc.noctua.at/coolers/NH-U9S-13/cpu/Intel/LGA%201700?q=i9

  • billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 32,277 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    Options

    The PO3-640 models use the 12th gen CPUs, typically an i7-12700 or i7-12700F. On those you can drop an i9-12900 or i9-1200F without other changes, though if you are in that deep it would be a great time to upgrade the cooling to the Noctua NH-U9S at the same time. The PO3-650 models aren't yet available IIRC and they support the 13th gen CPUs. Again though they will ship with the i5 and i7 CPUs but should work without other mods with the i9-13900 and i9-13900F. All of those CPU have a TDP of 65W…

    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.

Answers

  • Alejandro_AC
    Alejandro_AC ACE Posts: 12,291 Trailblazer
    Options

    Hi @Arthas can you please indicate the exact model of the computer and the version of Windows installed?

    Thank you.
    All the best.

    Please click "Like" if my answer was helpful or mark it as a solution if it was resolved, thanks!

    I use Google Translate for English, German, Portuguese and French.

    Pro bono collaborator, I don't work or speak in the name of Acer

    Por favor, haga clic en "Me gusta" si mi respuesta fue útil o márquela como solución si fué resuelta, gracias!

    Colaborador Pro bono, no trabajo o hablo en nombre de Acer

    MSFT MVP (2003-21) & Windows Insider

     X (alezmvp) - X (aquimislibros)

  • Arthas
    Arthas Member Posts: 13

    Tinkerer

    Options
  • Alejandro_AC
    Alejandro_AC ACE Posts: 12,291 Trailblazer
    Options

    Thanks for the information, that is the model of the series, but the specific model must be something similar or equal to this:
    PO3-630
    Is that the model?

    Thank you and sorry for the inconvenience.
    All the best.

    Please click "Like" if my answer was helpful or mark it as a solution if it was resolved, thanks!

    I use Google Translate for English, German, Portuguese and French.

    Pro bono collaborator, I don't work or speak in the name of Acer

    Por favor, haga clic en "Me gusta" si mi respuesta fue útil o márquela como solución si fué resuelta, gracias!

    Colaborador Pro bono, no trabajo o hablo en nombre de Acer

    MSFT MVP (2003-21) & Windows Insider

     X (alezmvp) - X (aquimislibros)

  • Arthas
    Arthas Member Posts: 13

    Tinkerer

    Options

    P03-640 model. Is it upgradable up to i9 setup in the future? Or no?

  • Alejandro_AC
    Alejandro_AC ACE Posts: 12,291 Trailblazer
    edited June 2023
    Options

    According to the information in the service manual, it supports Intel LGA 1700 socket processors:

    All the best.

    Please click "Like" if my answer was helpful or mark it as a solution if it was resolved, thanks!

    I use Google Translate for English, German, Portuguese and French.

    Pro bono collaborator, I don't work or speak in the name of Acer

    Por favor, haga clic en "Me gusta" si mi respuesta fue útil o márquela como solución si fué resuelta, gracias!

    Colaborador Pro bono, no trabajo o hablo en nombre de Acer

    MSFT MVP (2003-21) & Windows Insider

     X (alezmvp) - X (aquimislibros)

  • Arthas
    Arthas Member Posts: 13

    Tinkerer

    Options

    if i changed the motherboard too is the TOWER/CASING of ORION 3000 PO3-640 can handle i9 components?

  • Alejandro_AC
    Alejandro_AC ACE Posts: 12,291 Trailblazer
    Options

    I don't understand, did you change the original motherboard of the equipment?
    If you change it, you should check with the manufacturer of the new board what processors it supports.
    If I don't change it, that's the data, go to Intel to find out the compatible i9 processors.

    All the best.

    Please click "Like" if my answer was helpful or mark it as a solution if it was resolved, thanks!

    I use Google Translate for English, German, Portuguese and French.

    Pro bono collaborator, I don't work or speak in the name of Acer

    Por favor, haga clic en "Me gusta" si mi respuesta fue útil o márquela como solución si fué resuelta, gracias!

    Colaborador Pro bono, no trabajo o hablo en nombre de Acer

    MSFT MVP (2003-21) & Windows Insider

     X (alezmvp) - X (aquimislibros)

  • Arthas
    Arthas Member Posts: 13

    Tinkerer

    Options

    you didn’t understand the point. And you couldn’t understand properly. What im asking is IF CAN YOU UPGRADE the TOWER/ CASING of ORION 3000 to i9? Only yes or no should be the answer.

  • GotBanned
    GotBanned Member Posts: 621 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    Answer ✓
    Options

    I have not seen anyone do this, but at least in theory it should be possible. See the thread below.

    If you do this, please share your experience with the forum. Personally I would not even try this, because the cooling will most likely be insufficient ⇒ the CPU will throttle under full load and render the upgrade pointless.

  • Arthas
    Arthas Member Posts: 13

    Tinkerer

    Options

    Oh well in that case i wish ACER will produce more ORION 7000 here in the philippines. WE NEED DESKTOPS LIKE THIS SOO BADLY. we are only no#1 when it comes to acer laptops. And it looks like the orion 3000 could not handle the heat of i9 specs because of the midrange size of the tower. Too small for ventilation 😞

  • GotBanned
    GotBanned Member Posts: 621 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    edited June 2023 Answer ✓
    Options

    If you really want to have i9 in this small box, you can replace the original cooler with something like Noctua NH-U9S.

    Below is a link to Noctua's site that tells which i9s are supported. I'd pick a 12th gen CPU that will be supported with "Best turbo/overclocking headroom" by the cooler. Unfortunately I can't tell if i9s will work on your motherboard (possible BIOS issues) or is the U9S enough to keep the CPU from throttling.

    https://ncc.noctua.at/coolers/NH-U9S-13/cpu/Intel/LGA%201700?q=i9

  • Arthas
    Arthas Member Posts: 13

    Tinkerer

    Options

    thankyou for the advice. I will take note of that i would rather buy the orion 7000/ orion X or whatever is available in my country.

  • billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 32,277 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    Options

    The PO3-640 models use the 12th gen CPUs, typically an i7-12700 or i7-12700F. On those you can drop an i9-12900 or i9-1200F without other changes, though if you are in that deep it would be a great time to upgrade the cooling to the Noctua NH-U9S at the same time. The PO3-650 models aren't yet available IIRC and they support the 13th gen CPUs. Again though they will ship with the i5 and i7 CPUs but should work without other mods with the i9-13900 and i9-13900F. All of those CPU have a TDP of 65W…

    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.