My new Predator PO3 - 640 doesn't spin the fans faster when PredatorSense is on auto

Options
TurboCleavage
TurboCleavage Member Posts: 3 New User

Fans are speeding up okay when on Custom or Gaming preset, however on auto it's just static and on much lower RPM than on Custom. The CPU fan in particular is around 700-900 on Auto and the minimum is 2800 on Custom.

I saw another thread mention that it may be due to the connection of the fan to the motherboard. But I'm looking for some less major things to try out, rather than a unit replacement or fan replacement, as I don't really believe the PC shop would replace it.

Are there maybe some faulty drivers, older version of BiOS that could be causing this? Or maybe I could try a different App to take control of the fans?

Thank you in advance for any suggestions

Best Answer

  • chugzilla
    chugzilla Member Posts: 701 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    Answer ✓
    Options

    auto means there on automatically there is no automatic adjustment everything has to be done manually on all models except the 7000 series i have the 5000 series and i have to manually adjust each and every time.... just remember auto doesn't mean it automatically adjusts when gaming etc. i called and spoke to acer level 2 support about it

«1

Answers

  • Commodore_1995#
    Options

    Hi! What happens when you disable smart fan in bios?

    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          
                                                      
                                                     egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • TurboCleavage
    TurboCleavage Member Posts: 3 New User
    edited November 2022
    Options

    Hey, thanks for the response. Just tried it now, but still the same issue. CPU fan still stays on 760 RPM, no matter the temp. Still acting the same way when using Custom and Gaming preset as well.

    The only difference was that when booting up into Windows the fans were on full blast and the sppeds lowered once I was in Windows.

  • chugzilla
    chugzilla Member Posts: 701 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    Answer ✓
    Options

    auto means there on automatically there is no automatic adjustment everything has to be done manually on all models except the 7000 series i have the 5000 series and i have to manually adjust each and every time.... just remember auto doesn't mean it automatically adjusts when gaming etc. i called and spoke to acer level 2 support about it

  • TurboCleavage
    TurboCleavage Member Posts: 3 New User
    Options

    Oh wow. That's really counterintuitive to what I and seemingly a lot of people think 'auto' means. Especially since in another thread about the exact same model someone else mentioned it being a problem with the third (green pin) of the fan connector.

    But thanks for the reply chugzilla, appreciate that you took time out of your day to confirm it with Acer support.

  • chugzilla
    chugzilla Member Posts: 701 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    Options

    yeah, i thought the same thing when i first got mine lol then when i saw how hot it got just playing a simple game like poppy playtime chapter 1 with my granddaughter in auto mode i was like ok time to call support and find out what's going on with the settings so now i always put them in gaming mode before i play any games because i really had no idea what was going on but now i do and glad i could help and all Ya do is call support and ask for a level 2 agent when Ya want an answer you cannot find here but most here know there stuff and are great ppl

  • Commodore_1995#
    Commodore_1995# ACE Posts: 97,921 Trailblazer
    edited November 2022
    Options

    It's a strange answer. The fan curves are based on the temperatures reached at that time. If the temperature is high, the uefi firmware sends information to the motherboard to increase the fan speed. It could be some bug in predator sense too.

    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          
                                                      
                                                     egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • chugzilla
    chugzilla Member Posts: 701 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    Options

    ^^^^^ egydiocoelho well, if that's true then we have a problem i have had 2 of the PO5-640-UB11 and neither adjusts automatically and i even called and asked a level 2 support agent about that and he said no it has to be set manually and I'm sure he knows what he is talking about

  • Commodore_1995#
    Options

    @chugzilla What is the version bios? Have you tried to disable smartfan in bios?

    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          
                                                      
                                                     egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • GotBanned
    GotBanned Member Posts: 623 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    Options

    Maybe give Fan Control a try? I have a self-build PC and FC takes care of my water pump and other fans as well.

    But if Fan Control doesn't recognize your GPU, use MSI Afterburner. With it you can undervolt, overclock and control GPU's fans.

  • chugzilla
    chugzilla Member Posts: 701 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    Options

    nope I'm good I don't go into the bios and I do not have a problem clicking on gaming either lol ide rather do things manually

  • Ol_Snapper
    Ol_Snapper Member Posts: 45 Troubleshooter
    Options

    @chugzilla - Dude, I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your responses in both this thread and a few others. I have the same desktop model as you (P05-640-UB11), I bought it back in early November, but it is still in the box because its supposed to be a Christmas gift lol. I can almost guarantee I would have ended up calling Acer support for the same exact reason you did. Who knew "Auto" doesn't translate to auto-adjust fan speeds while gaming..?

    Thanks for doing the leg work for the rest of us!

  • chugzilla
    chugzilla Member Posts: 701 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    Options

    yeah, it's all good no worries that's what we do help and try our best it's all good anything Ya need just ask away .... and yeah, it's not a big deal just remember before gaming put it in gaming mode by clicking gaming lol it's so easy it's not even funny who needs anything more... I mean I forgot a few times but that was when I first got it ... anyways I hope you enjoy it I love mine

  • Commodore_1995#
    Options

    Yes it's true! The uefi firmware controls the fan curve table. The automatic mode suggests that the fans should automatically decrease and increase the speed according to the temperature. In this case I would check the uefi firmware version first and try to update to the latest version available on the acer website.

    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          
                                                      
                                                     egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • chugzilla
    chugzilla Member Posts: 701 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    Options

    well i just called tech support again just now and they said no .... auto is for general computing like surfing the internet and gaming is well for gaming no automatic adjustments etc on the fans in auto mode at all that was not the intention so haha who knows

  • Sunn70190
    Sunn70190 Member Posts: 8 New User
    Options

    using p03-640 in auto mode, i can tell that fans are automatically adjusting their speed according to the gpu, cpu and case temperature.


    latest bios firmware and all acer softwares are installed.


    i never change to gaming mode, it's too noisy even when im just surfing the internet fans run at high speed.

  • chugzilla
    chugzilla Member Posts: 701 Seasoned Specialist WiFi Icon
    Options

    what did Ya do? I have a PO5-640-UB11 all updated etc. and mine doesn't do that I've checked several times

  • Sunn70190
    Sunn70190 Member Posts: 8 New User
    Options

    I did nothing particular. It just seems to work fine

  • Commodore_1995#
    Options
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          
                                                      
                                                     egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • TurkeyBurger88
    TurkeyBurger88 Member Posts: 5

    Tinkerer

    Options

    Yeah mine does that too in auto mode. It adjust fan speeds with temperature increases and decrease. Reading some of the other comments, no way that is normal for it not to automatically adjust accordingly. IMO gaming mode is annoying loud lol.

  • Kz00
    Kz00 Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    Options

    I have the exact same issue here. Everything updated but fans doesn't change rpm on auto mode with one exception. Cpu fan kicks in at 100C. Case fans nothing. GPU AT 75C. Case....nothing. FanControl doesn't work.