Predator Helios 300 PH315-52-78VL keyboard problem

Options
SeanChevalier
SeanChevalier Member Posts: 4 New User

I've been using a Predator Helios 300, PH315-52-78VL for a couple years no with no major problems. Last week several of the keys stopped responding (Backspace, backslash, enter, semicolon, and right arrow) and I've been trying to get them to work since. Things I've attempted with no results: removing the individual keys and checking for issues (no issue, but I did break the hinge on the right-arrow -.-), updating the keyboard drivers (no update found), updating the firmware (first to 1.06, then to 1.12, no change), removing the back of the laptop and checking the connection (keyboard cable was seated fine, just in case I unplugged it from the board and reinserted it firmly, also unplugged and replugged the battery cable in the process), doing a hard power reset (holding down power button for twenty seconds, then restarting the computer), and plugging in an external keyboard (external keyboard worked fine). None of these attempts have changed anything, the same keys aren't working now as before. Are there any other steps I can attempt before trying to replace the keyboard outright? I'd rather not have to try that because doing so would involve completely disassembling the interior of the laptop to access the keyboard (not a fan of that design) and the odds of me breaking something even more important are reasonably high.

Cheers,

Sean

Best Answer

• Commodore_1995#
    Commodore_1995# ACE Posts: 97,747 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    Options

I can't think of any other possibility. The fastest and most practical way is to use an external usb keyboard. It is very likely that the keyboard is shorted.

Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!