Acer Aspire XC-885 series, how to upgrade?want to replace 256gb of the hardware storage with ssd

Cramborine
Cramborine Member Posts: 3 New User
Hi

I am a beginner at building a pc. I bought this pc in 2018. I have a 27inch hp monitor with 60fps max. So recently the pc has become really slow. I want to replace 256gb of the hardware storage with ssd. Add another 8gb of ram and get a better gpu. It already has i5 intel core. Would I need a new motherboard case and power? Sorry for the dumb question. 

I would like to use the pc for gaming, e.g apex legends. I am also studying statistics, data science and machine learning at university but only the theoretical aspects first. One day I would probably get to coding ml/AI programs. 

Thanks for any responses

[Edited the thread to add issue detail]

Answers

• Larryodie
    Larryodie Member Posts: 1,568 Community Aficionado WiFi Icon
    You probably can clean it with CCleaner or others to get rid of garbage, Do a MSCONFIG then see what is booting ? Probably much spam and unwanted virus stuff. A SSD will help greatly but cleaning will vastly help. A clean Windows install would be nice but back of your data first. my opinion is clean it up , add SSD and use it as spare untill WIN10 obsoletes it but buy or build you a gaming system . 
  • Cramborine
    Cramborine Member Posts: 3 New User
    Larryodie said:
    You probably can clean it with CCleaner or others to get rid of garbage, Do a MSCONFIG then see what is booting ? Probably much spam and unwanted virus stuff. A SSD will help greatly but cleaning will vastly help. A clean Windows install would be nice but back of your data first. my opinion is clean it up , add SSD and use it as spare untill WIN10 obsoletes it but buy or build you a gaming system . 
    What is the best way to back it up, I have at least 30GB of files in there. Would I have to transfer to google drive or something?
  • Larryodie
    Larryodie Member Posts: 1,568 Community Aficionado WiFi Icon