Acer v5 431 Hinges broken

Michael18941
Michael18941 Member Posts: 4 New User
I need advice on how to fix the Acer Aspire V5 431 On the outside part of the laptop next the hinge the plastic  case has come apart? I'm not sure what was holding this side together because I can't see screws on the other side in the same area?
I've never done a laptop repair before so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

First photo is part of the case that has come apart.
The second is the opposite side that has not come apart.
The third showing model number,

{Thread was edited to add model name to the title}

Answers

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,478 Trailblazer
    Looks like some bottom screws are missing. You should be able to pinch the top and bottom covers together. Internal plastic hooks should then hold the two covers together at least temporarily until you order a laptop screw it from Amazon for less than $10. You can also temporarily borrow some mid cover screws since they aren't as crtical as those on the edges.

Jack E/NJ

• Michael18941
    Yes your right there are screws missing on BOTH sides of the hinge,far right and far left of the laptop,
    The side where the plastic has come away,I tried pushing it together then inserting screw taken out of another part and it won't screw in,could there be something wrong with the mechanism that the screw fixes into,it looks as if there is a small metal plate with holes in it and a black thing that goes directly into the hinge.
  • JackE
    >>,I tried pushing it together then inserting screw taken out of another part >>>

The covers should really just snap together unless the molded plastic fastener hooks broke off inside. Use two-hand pinch technique shown starting from the narrow end and working your way toward the wide end of the separation. Some of them might've been broken if the machine ever had maintenance that required prying the covers apart. The screws are sort of a safety fasteners.

Jack E/NJ

• Michael18941