Acer Nitro 5 515 : Full black screen, except for a few lines on the top

Options
Namuu
Namuu Member Posts: 8

Tinkerer

edited March 2022 in Nitro Gaming
Hi, I've been using an Acer Nitro 5 515 for a few months now, and I encountered some minor problems.
However, recently, a "minor" one, got more and more imoprtant : on specific situations, my screen goes fully black, except for a few working lines on the top of it.

I've encountered that problem on those situations : 
- When the screen tries to display 144Hz
- When the PC boots (I'm unable to see the "Acer" Logo)
- In the BIOS (Which is the most problematic case)

Here's an image of my PC in the BIOS:

I haven't seen any similar posts online (many black screens, but no one that had those weird horizontal lines). Would someone have an idea on how to fix it ?

Thanks !

Best Answer

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,593 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Replace cable. Less than $20usd. Google "full model number" and "video cable" for vendors who ship to your location. Break inside cable insulation in hinge can't be seen. Common problem due to opening and closing the lid too much.

Jack E/NJ

Answers

• JackE
    Options
    Do you see the same issue when HDMI out to a TV set or external monitor?

Jack E/NJ

• Namuu

Tinkerer

Options
    JackE said:
    Do you see the same issue when HDMI out to a TV set or external monitor?
    No, I actually used an external monitor to switch the screen to 60Hz when it was black.
    It only does it on the laptop's screen
  • JackE
    Options
    OK, this suggests that the video cable connectors at the mainboard and base of the screen, and/or cable wires running through the hinge area are likely the issue. If you have a habit of opening and closing the lid too much, the wires sometime develop interminttent breaks due to constant flexing in the hinge area.