Acer Spin 713 CP713-2W-54PK. Chromebook won't switch on - battery or charge circuit dead?

petertheshark
petertheshark Member Posts: 5

Tinkerer

edited January 2022 in Chromebooks
Acer 713 Chromebook, 14 months old (2 months out of warranty), won't switch on.

Power adapter fine, plugging into either of the two charge ports causes the orange charge light to illuminate, but not charge the battery or switch the Chromebook on.  The only way to power on is to remove the cover, disconnect the battery, connect the charger, re-connect the battery and power it on (I'm fine doing that, I work in IT, but wouldn't recommend others reconnecting batteries with live power).  All other methods of holding the power button, doing a reset key combo, etc. don't work.

The Chrome power charts show the battery isn't charging.  So, for anyone else who's suffered this issue, is it likely to be a dead battery or dead charge circuit?  

Thanks for any tips.

Thread was edited to add model name to the title

Answers

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,679 Trailblazer
    Which model is it? It should be something like CP713-xxx-xxxx and the full model number is likely on the same sticker as the SN and SNID. I can sometimes look up info on the way they're doing the charge circuit, but it tends to be different for different models.
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • petertheshark

Tinkerer

Thanks billsey - It's CP713-2W-54PK.
  • billsey