image

What does Clear App Data do on my phone?

rossrossrossross Member Posts: 8

Tinkerer

edited November 2021 in Gadgets & Smartphones
I have a 5 years old Acer Liquid Zest T06 Android 6 with 1GB RAM, 8GB ROM and a 30GB SD card added and recently I'm getting low internal storage space warnings. Except Viber and Skype which are moved on the SD card, I have not installed any additional apps but just upgrades to the originally installed apps that I use. I have set the photos taken to be backed up on Google Photos cloud and do not keep them on the phone. The Gallery items are on the SD card. I don't know what keeps taking the internal storage space, maybe the updates inflated the apps space but I'm wondering what can I do to free up storage space. When I use the System Doctor app and go to Apps > Data it shows a list sorted by apps data size with an option to clear it. On the top of the list taking large app data space are Gmail 481MB, Messaging 163MB, Drive 140MB, Google Text-to-speech 117MB. The rest of the apps range from 20MB down to 12KB. I wonder what will happen if I clear the app data of the mentioned apps and if that will help. I searched online and spent a lot of time reading various info but didn't find it very helpful.
I will greatly appreciate your help and any input

FAQ & Answers

  • rossrossrossross Member Posts: 8

    Tinkerer

    Forgot to mention that Google Play Store also had more than 100MB app data that I cleared to see what happens because I don't see what I can lose there and now its app data space is only 11.12MB. I opened it and didn't find any difference from before clearing its more than 100MB app data and I'm wondering what were all those extra MB used for.
  • MRVINNYMRVINNY Member Posts: 1 New User
    edited December 2021
    If you dig into the Apps storage setting screen and tap on an individual app, you'll notice that each app has its own stash of “cached” data—anywhere from a few kilobytes to hundreds of megs, or even more. These caches of data are essentially just junk files, and they can be safely deleted to free up storage space. Regards: AiryTV
    You will not lose any of your photos, if CLEAR DATA operation is performed, it is completely safe to do so. This just means that your preferences have been reset and the cache has been cleared. Cache is generated only for providing fast access to gallery files.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online1.1K

Acer-Monica
Acer-Monica
BoundCNapalm
BoundCNapalm
DiegoParalon
DiegoParalon
Jalbert2010
Jalbert2010
joelma848
joelma848
JohnG0814
JohnG0814
lucasfreire
lucasfreire
StevenGen
StevenGen
+1.1K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers