Aspire X-895 Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX SB1570 PCIe 5.1 sound Card SBX Pro Studio

oztraxed
oztraxed Member Posts: 33 Die Hard WiFi Icon
Hi, wonder if anyone has put this card into an Aspire X-895 desktop?

I'm thinking of putting one in, aim to do some recordings and mixing in Cakewalk.

It comes with the bracket at the back with all the speaker outputs.

My questions are:

For a complete novice it it easy to put in? do I just open it up and plug it into the slot then close it back up again and hey presto all there?

Does my front panel headphone and mic socket automaticly work?

Has anyone use this card for recording and playback and is the quality good? Or any other suggestions for sound card?

I'm doing this causwe thought I have got the 5.1 sound working on the onboard Realtek card (at last) when recording I have a delay, I think it's called latency. with my old XP system I had a Creative 5.1 sound card and no delays on that with recording, also gave me a nice playback sound thru my speakers.

Many thanks for your time and any advice.

Cheers

Thread was edited to add model name to the title

Answers

• ttttt
    ttttt Member Posts: 1,947 Community Aficionado WiFi Icon
    @oztraxed

If you already have the sound card, definitely put it in.

It is basically easy. Just  make sure the card seated tight enough in the slot and remember to tighten the screw at the bracket. The card may have a driver disc, that is the software for the communication between your card and the computer.

If the sound card installed and rebooted and the sound card is not working properly, then you may need to insert the driver disc ( or visit Creative Sound web site to download the right drivers for the card) and run the driver installation program ( usually the Setup application).

But I bet Windows 10 probably will install the right drivers for you automatically.
  • billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,647 Trailblazer