ACPI Driver For Windows XP Installation? - Aspire TC-710

AlexSlater1234567
AlexSlater1234567 Member Posts: 9

Tinkerer

Hello! 

I was trying to install Windows XP on a separate partitioned drive, for a 64-bit one.  My device is the "Aspire TC-710", and I ran into some trouble.  I got the standard 0000000A5 error that it requires the Power Management driver or something.

I looked it up, and I found that I have to download it, however I couldn't find it on the drivers list for Acer's site.  I have understanding of the lower level of the machine, as I am a programmer :D.  Does anybody know where I can find this driver, and if it will still be possible to set up Windows XP?  And is there a way to run it from the desktop, without making the driver into a bootable isc/USB drive?

I tried pressing F7 in the starting load sequence, but it merely just brought me to a little button menu with my processor type, etc.  It was skipping past that usual text error like it said it would, but it still brought me to it again.

Any ideas?  Help would be greatly appreciated!

//Edited the content to add model name.

Answers

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 33,439 Trailblazer
    There are no XP drivers, and especially no XP 64bit drivers for that new of a computer. It was never designed for XP, since it originally was released in the W10 era.
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • AlexSlater1234567

Tinkerer

edited June 2021
    billsey said:
    There are no XP drivers, and especially no XP 64bit drivers for that new of a computer. It was never designed for XP, since it originally was released in the W10 era.
    That is wrong.  XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX!

[Thread edited to remove inappropriate or personal content]
  • Leostat
    Leostat ACE Posts: 3,043 Pathfinder
    In a Vm would probably be the only way to get it to play, as billsey says drivers really are not back ported to xp now
  • AlexSlater1234567