HDD upgrade cable - nitro 5-AN515-44/55 or 517-52

Options
Tash
Tash Member Posts: 3 New User
edited May 2021 in Nitro Gaming
So I wanted to install the HDD upgrade cable straight away but the silver box (hard drive) I’m guessing (I’m new to this) is missing? Do I buy separate? 

//Edited the content to add model name.

Best Answer

• ttttt
    ttttt Member Posts: 1,947 Community Aficionado WiFi Icon
    Answer ✓
    Options
    @Tash

Why bother with 2.5" SATA3 SSD or mechanical HDD and look for cables? If you just want additional storage and no consideration for speed, that may be one possible reason.

Your laptop can use M.2 NVMe SSD, which is like 5-6 times faster than 2.5" SATA3 SSD and like 20+ times faster than mechanical HDD. Put the M.2 NVMe SSD to full potential use!

Answers

• ttttt
    Options
    Do you want to "ADD" a HDD or "UPGRADE" to a higher capacity HDD?

Do not know your PC's model yet.

If you PC is a laptop, sometimes a short cable  will be in the compartment for future HDD (most likely no cable needed).

If you have a desktop, for Micro ATX PC you may need a 8" SATA data cable. For ATX tower, you may need something like 12"-14", depending on which part of the PC the HDD will be placed. Some cables have additional clip for more secure connecting, some cables have 90 degree connector for easy access.

I always suggest people upgrade to 2.5" SATA3 SSD from the old style mechanical HDD as SATA3 SSD is like 2-3 times faster than spinning HDD, this is the best value performance upgrade for a PC. Use a 2.5" SATA3 SSD if you have not bought the HDD yet.

• SilvaGi
    SilvaGi Member Posts: 277 Practitioner WiFi Icon
    Options
    Yes that's for additional optional upgrade to 2.5 inch SSD or HDD ( hardrive). Whats your model number and use for your new laptop? can better help you with upgrade options. BTW, in most countries it wont void warranty for RAM upgrade and adding HDD or SSD.
    Please Click Yes if Ive answered your question.