Aspire ES1-711-P14W: Black Screen of Death

System
System Member Posts: 4,538 Seasoned Practitioner WiFi Icon
edited February 2021 in Aspire Laptops
This discussion was created from comments split from: Acer Aspire Black Screen of Death Aspire E5-576.

[Edited the topic title to include model's name]

Answers

• Teager
    Teager Member Posts: 1 New User
    I am not a tech expert, but I have been using computers since the 80's. This "Black Screen of Death" has captured 5 months of my life. It is THE most upsetting experience I have ever had. Acer Aspire ES1-711-P14W began offering black screen on startup in May 2020. After every little trick, it would spontaneously give me a screen - which I captured with glee - and then would begin trying a "fix". Intel worked with me several times and identified a BIOS issue. Why? Because when we went to the ACER website we could NOT FIND the graphics driver for N3540 but substituted another after a Microsoft Basic Display Adapter start, then downloaded Driver 15.33.53.5161.  Intel agent searched for the BIOS on the ACER website - zip. So, now I sit with my financial laptop (with way too much private information enclosed) and unable to send for repair. I face destroying the hard drive and putting into recycle - unless ACER comes up with the necessary support for my "just turned" 5 year old laptop. Any suggestions gentlemen.
  • JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,767 Trailblazer
    Do you get an HDMI out to a screen on a TV? You might have to press FN+F5 to toggle the TV screen on. As an aside, intermittent black screen issues are often due to a conductor trace break in the LCD video cable in the hinge area from wear and tear of opening/closing the lid too much. New LCD replacements are less than $25USD. Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ

• Goodie44
    Goodie44 Member Posts: 1 New User