Acer V3 471G upgrade to SSD

Spin_3Spin_3 Member Posts: 9

Tinkerer

Hi All,

In order to upgrade my ageing V3 471G (bought in 2012) I replaced the HDD with a new SSD. And it is working perfectly.
Now in order to use old HDD, I bought a HDD caddy and removed the DVD drive to insert this caddy with old HDD.
Now when I start my laptop, it doesn't recognise this old HDD in caddy which is in dvd drive. Neither BIOS, not disk management or device manager.
In order to check if caddy is working or not. I started the laptop and in BIOS changed to boot from dvd drive. And it booted from old HDD in caddy at dvd drive ( I haven't reformatted it). And guess what SSD is also showing as E drive. I have both old HDD as C drive and SSD as E drive. So caddy is working perfectly.

Now again when I boot from new SSD the old HDD is not recognised at all.

Can some one please help?

Thanks in advance

Best Answer

  • Spin_3Spin_3 Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    Accepted Answer
    StevenGen said:
    Spin_3 said:
    Hi All,

    In order to upgrade my ageing V3 471G (bought in 2012) I replaced the HDD with a new SSD. And it is working perfectly.
    Now in order to use old HDD, I bought a HDD caddy and removed the DVD drive to insert this caddy with old HDD.
    Now when I start my laptop, it doesn't recognise this old HDD in caddy which is in dvd drive. Neither BIOS, not disk management or device manager.
    In order to check if caddy is working or not. I started the laptop and in BIOS changed to boot from dvd drive. And it booted from old HDD in caddy at dvd drive ( I haven't reformatted it). And guess what SSD is also showing as E drive. I have both old HDD as C drive and SSD as E drive. So caddy is working perfectly.

    Now again when I boot from new SSD the old HDD is not recognised at all.

    Can some one please help?

    Thanks in advance

    You have to format the old spinner HDD (make sure you back it up if you want any data on it) to MBR/Legacy with a SATA/USB adaptor, I don’t know if you cloned your old HDD to the SSD and used the Win-10 on it? As that is what I did when I changed a spinner HDD to an SSD. Use a SATA to USB adaptor and format the old HDD, after the format the system will recognise your caddy spinner HDD. I did the same to an Aspire V3-571G and it works perfectly, simple.


    Thanks Steven,

    I did a re-format and this time it worked.

    Now my both old and new HDD are showing up.

    Thanks 😊

    Thanks everyone for your prompt response.

FAQ & Answers

  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 22,959 Trailblazer
    >>>Neither BIOS, not disk management or device manager. In order to check if caddy is working or not. I started the laptop and in BIOS changed to boot from dvd drive.>>>

    Please post a phoneshot of both the BIOS Information and Boot tabs if possible. Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • Spin_3Spin_3 Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    Hi,
    My BIOS is very old and basic, never upgraded the driver. Here no visible change in both cases.
    Thanks
  • StevenGenStevenGen Member Posts: 1,016 Valued Contributor
    edited September 9
    Spin_3 said:
    Hi All,

    In order to upgrade my ageing V3 471G (bought in 2012) I replaced the HDD with a new SSD. And it is working perfectly.
    Now in order to use old HDD, I bought a HDD caddy and removed the DVD drive to insert this caddy with old HDD.
    Now when I start my laptop, it doesn't recognise this old HDD in caddy which is in dvd drive. Neither BIOS, not disk management or device manager.
    In order to check if caddy is working or not. I started the laptop and in BIOS changed to boot from dvd drive. And it booted from old HDD in caddy at dvd drive ( I haven't reformatted it). And guess what SSD is also showing as E drive. I have both old HDD as C drive and SSD as E drive. So caddy is working perfectly.

    Now again when I boot from new SSD the old HDD is not recognised at all.

    Can some one please help?

    Thanks in advance

    You have to format the old spinner HDD (make sure you back it up if you want any data on it) to MBR/Legacy with a SATA/USB adaptor, I don’t know if you cloned your old HDD to the SSD and used the Win-10 on it? As that is what I did when I changed a spinner HDD to an SSD. Use a SATA to USB adaptor and format the old HDD, after the format the system will recognise your caddy spinner HDD. I did the same to an Aspire V3-571G and it works perfectly, simple.


  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 22,959 Trailblazer
    >>>My BIOS is very old and basic, never upgraded the driver. Here no visible change in both cases.>>>

    Please post a phoneshot of both the BIOS Information and Boot tabs if possible. Jack E/NJ

    Jack E/NJ
  • Spin_3Spin_3 Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    JackE said:
    >>>My BIOS is very old and basic, never upgraded the driver. Here no visible change in both cases.>>>

    Please post a phoneshot of both the BIOS Information and Boot tabs if possible. Jack E/NJ

    Sure, will do that tomorrow.

    Thanks
  • Spin_3Spin_3 Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    StevenGen said:
    Spin_3 said:
    Hi All,

    In order to upgrade my ageing V3 471G (bought in 2012) I replaced the HDD with a new SSD. And it is working perfectly.
    Now in order to use old HDD, I bought a HDD caddy and removed the DVD drive to insert this caddy with old HDD.
    Now when I start my laptop, it doesn't recognise this old HDD in caddy which is in dvd drive. Neither BIOS, not disk management or device manager.
    In order to check if caddy is working or not. I started the laptop and in BIOS changed to boot from dvd drive. And it booted from old HDD in caddy at dvd drive ( I haven't reformatted it). And guess what SSD is also showing as E drive. I have both old HDD as C drive and SSD as E drive. So caddy is working perfectly.

    Now again when I boot from new SSD the old HDD is not recognised at all.

    Can some one please help?

    Thanks in advance

    You have to format the old spinner HDD (make sure you back it up if you want any data on it) to MBR/Legacy with a SATA/USB adaptor, I don’t know if you cloned your old HDD to the SSD and used the Win-10 on it? As that is what I did when I changed a spinner HDD to an SSD. Use a SATA to USB adaptor and format the old HDD, after the format the system will recognise your caddy spinner HDD. I did the same to an Aspire V3-571G and it works perfectly, simple.


    Hi,
    Thanks for taking time to reply.
    Now I formatted old HDD using a USB, and again put it in Caddy. But still it's not showing up 😒.
  • Spin_3Spin_3 Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    JackE said:
    >>>My BIOS is very old and basic, never upgraded the driver. Here no visible change in both cases.>>>

    Please post a phoneshot of both the BIOS Information and Boot tabs if possible. Jack E/NJ

    Hi Jack,
    Apologize for late reply.

    As requested please find attached photo of BIOS information and Boot tabs.
    I format the old HDD and again tried through Caddy in CD drive, but still no luck.
    Thanks
  • Spin_3Spin_3 Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    Accepted Answer
    StevenGen said:
    Spin_3 said:
    Hi All,

    In order to upgrade my ageing V3 471G (bought in 2012) I replaced the HDD with a new SSD. And it is working perfectly.
    Now in order to use old HDD, I bought a HDD caddy and removed the DVD drive to insert this caddy with old HDD.
    Now when I start my laptop, it doesn't recognise this old HDD in caddy which is in dvd drive. Neither BIOS, not disk management or device manager.
    In order to check if caddy is working or not. I started the laptop and in BIOS changed to boot from dvd drive. And it booted from old HDD in caddy at dvd drive ( I haven't reformatted it). And guess what SSD is also showing as E drive. I have both old HDD as C drive and SSD as E drive. So caddy is working perfectly.

    Now again when I boot from new SSD the old HDD is not recognised at all.

    Can some one please help?

    Thanks in advance

    You have to format the old spinner HDD (make sure you back it up if you want any data on it) to MBR/Legacy with a SATA/USB adaptor, I don’t know if you cloned your old HDD to the SSD and used the Win-10 on it? As that is what I did when I changed a spinner HDD to an SSD. Use a SATA to USB adaptor and format the old HDD, after the format the system will recognise your caddy spinner HDD. I did the same to an Aspire V3-571G and it works perfectly, simple.


    Thanks Steven,

    I did a re-format and this time it worked.

    Now my both old and new HDD are showing up.

    Thanks 😊

    Thanks everyone for your prompt response.
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 22,959 Trailblazer
    >>>I format the old HDD and again tried through Caddy in CD drive, but still no luck>>>
    >>>I did a re-format and this time it worked.>>>

    Congrats. Jack E/NJ

    Jack E/NJ
  • Spin_3Spin_3 Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    StevenGen said:
    Spin_3 said:
    Hi All,

    In order to upgrade my ageing V3 471G (bought in 2012) I replaced the HDD with a new SSD. And it is working perfectly.
    Now in order to use old HDD, I bought a HDD caddy and removed the DVD drive to insert this caddy with old HDD.
    Now when I start my laptop, it doesn't recognise this old HDD in caddy which is in dvd drive. Neither BIOS, not disk management or device manager.
    In order to check if caddy is working or not. I started the laptop and in BIOS changed to boot from dvd drive. And it booted from old HDD in caddy at dvd drive ( I haven't reformatted it). And guess what SSD is also showing as E drive. I have both old HDD as C drive and SSD as E drive. So caddy is working perfectly.

    Now again when I boot from new SSD the old HDD is not recognised at all.

    Can some one please help?

    Thanks in advance

    You have to format the old spinner HDD (make sure you back it up if you want any data on it) to MBR/Legacy with a SATA/USB adaptor, I don’t know if you cloned your old HDD to the SSD and used the Win-10 on it? As that is what I did when I changed a spinner HDD to an SSD. Use a SATA to USB adaptor and format the old HDD, after the format the system will recognise your caddy spinner HDD. I did the same to an Aspire V3-571G and it works perfectly, simple.


    Thanks Steven,

    I did a re-format and this time it worked.

    Now my both old and new HDD are visible.

    Thanks again everyone for taking time to help me.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online1.1K

Alfredo_
Alfredo_
AlyEdin
AlyEdin
ARfranco69
ARfranco69
ASWIFT3USERFROMINDIA
ASWIFT3USERFROMINDIA
canax
canax
Doisum
Doisum
Donny070
Donny070
doodzio
doodzio
dudefoxlive
dudefoxlive
FELZADOLFO29
FELZADOLFO29
Gardner95x
Gardner95x
Hymnnathon
Hymnnathon
krizza_
krizza_
Mabio
Mabio
matzbirch
matzbirch
PrakM
PrakM
Raider00007
Raider00007
Rebello
Rebello
StellaMan
StellaMan
trumpmania666
trumpmania666
Vinomino
Vinomino
+1.1K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos