just bought a AN515-43-R2WK, have couple of questions

repiru
repiru Member Posts: 17 Troubleshooter
edited December 2023 in 2020 Archives
hi guys, it's my first time owning a laptop as expensive as this, so i have some questions about it

1.) is it okay to keep the charger connected to the laptop always, or do i have to remove the battery and just plug in the charger so it wont ruin the battery performance?
2.) i played my game earlier, and i had 70-75 deg c on my CPU, and a 60 deg c on my GPU. my specs are ryzen 7 3750H and a GTX 1650, is it normal to be getting these temps?
3.) i noticed that this laptop only has 4gb of ram, and I want to add a 8gb stick to it. is it possible to? and what things do i need to know before i buy a ram and add it inside?
4.) i play valorant, but i only get around ~90-100 fps in game on lowest settings, is it supposed to be like that or is it really low and i did something wrong?

thank you for all the answers!

Answers

• MihaiEVO
    MihaiEVO Member Posts: 72 Devotee WiFi Icon
    1. Totally yes. Most laptops nowadays have a built-in system that stops the battery from overcharging. Feel free and safe to keep the charger in all the time.
    2. You should not be concerned unless the temperatures for the CPU goes over 95 degrees C constantly. You can undervolt for lower temperatures, but this is just a personal choice. The GPU temperatures are cool for a gaming laptop, and again, you should not be concerned unless throttling occurs.
    3. Yes, you can add an extra stick. You need to know your current stick's latency and frequency first. Download CPU-Z and find your memory specifications and find a new RAM stick with the most similar specs. You can also find in-depth tutorials on how to upgrade your laptop model.
    4. It is completely normal since you only have 4GB RAM and it's also single channel (just a single stick). AMD loves dual channel (dual sticks) and they usually give a +15 FPS boost (my case).