next@acer 2020

Helios 300 - Disabling HDD doesn't work

AlbyMAlbyM Member Posts: 7 New User
Hello Everyone,

I got a weird issue with my Helios 300. Although I disabled the HDDs from the bios, this is completely ignored and all HDDs are still operational.

Is it a known bug?

Thanks

FAQ & Answers

  • Ahmao95Ahmao95 Member Posts: 13

    Tinkerer

    edited June 29
    How do you disable at bios? I cant find any option to disable it
  • AlbyMAlbyM Member Posts: 7 New User
    The option is available only if you set SATA mode to AHCI. Then it should appear, after reboot, below Intel VTX and VTD options
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 53,902 Trailblazer
    @AlbyM Can you provide the exact model of the notebook? Example an515-51-75kz.
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,207 Pathfinder
    edited June 30
    AlbyM i am just wondering why would someone want to disable the hdd in the bios if i wouldnt want the hdd i would just physically remove it  ;)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • AlbyMAlbyM Member Posts: 7 New User
    For example if you want to avoid any access to a secure hard drive from an insecure image. 
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,207 Pathfinder
    AlbyM in that case i would just encrypt the drive 


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • AlbyMAlbyM Member Posts: 7 New User
    @AlbyM Can you provide the exact model of the notebook? Example an515-51-75kz.
    Exact model is PH315-52-710B, thanks
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 53,902 Trailblazer
    Can you post some pictures of the bios settings? I ask this, because the service manual does not show the option sata configuration or storagechangeconfiguration in the bios of this model. Also, your model probably has bios version 1.06, correct?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • AlbyMAlbyM Member Posts: 7 New User
    I updated it to 1.11. The option is available only if you set sata mode to ahci







  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 53,902 Trailblazer
    Then you can only disable the sata port on the hard drive, if the sata mode is in ahci. Probably this change will cause bsods at windows startup.
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • AlbyMAlbyM Member Posts: 7 New User
    What do you mean? Windows is running in ahci mode because I did the procedure to let windows use the controller in ahci mode instead of RST, but the point is that if the bios has a “disable” setting for an HDD port, it should really disable the hard drive, instead it’s working as if I never disabled it. It seems like a bug to me, maybe no one has never tried that because who should do this in a Windows gaming laptop? But I am not using it just for gaming, hence the need to disable hard drives occasionally. What do you suggest? Does Acer have a bug tracker or something?
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 53,902 Trailblazer
    What I would advise is that you try to update the bios to see if you fix the bug. In addition, you can also access the bios and press f9 to restore it and then press f10 to save and exit. Then turn off the notebook, disconnect the power adapter and press the power button for 12 seconds to reset the battery. Then, check if the bug still occurs.
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • AlbyMAlbyM Member Posts: 7 New User
    Thanks for the suggestions but unfortunately I already tried these things. Is there an official bug track or official support somewhere?
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online767

Alberto25
Alberto25
Alectrona
Alectrona
andremorsch
andremorsch
Andrev
Andrev
aphanic
aphanic
Arif94
Arif94
batmalin
batmalin
Chickabumpbump
Chickabumpbump
Chirothèques
Chirothèques
Darshana2073
Darshana2073
Fabianopj95
Fabianopj95
Kno63
Kno63
MaClane
MaClane
Maria23
Maria23
MMNOOR
MMNOOR
Nikiloas
Nikiloas
Saima030
Saima030
sgoetz91
sgoetz91
srvakash
srvakash
Swankit450
Swankit450
Thiago_Sanches
Thiago_Sanches
Vishnuvel
Vishnuvel
+745 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3311

Total Points:5707

Total Accepted Answers: 287

GAMING6698 Mainframe Wrangler