Helios 300 fan noise: Unacceptable

Options
workplaceFanNoise
workplaceFanNoise Member Posts: 6

Tinkerer

Is there a fix for the Helios 300 fan noise at idle?

I have searched these forums for a way to lower fan noise at idle, but most posts seems to be people repeating that the noise is expected, or as if anything else would be silly or burn the unit, etc. Well, the fan noise at idle is not acceptable for a work or study environment, and as a computer engineer I will suggest that it is also unnecessary:
CPU temperature: 40-52 C             CPU fan: 2340 RPM (2000 - 2500)
GPU temperature: 41-46 C             GPU fan: 2700 RPM (2400 - 2800)

Acer and Predator Gaming have thus far decided to not allow consumers an easy way to control these features, whether through PredatorSense or in the BIOS. Most of what I've seen on this forum is not any hint of a solution to the repeatedly expressed issues of fan noise at idle, but mostly hand-waving from other members of the community essentially saying to just "deal with it" or that this is normal or to be expected (it's not). For reference, my low-spec college laptop was constantly around 80C (i7 CPU) and 6 years later it still works fine. It has also already been pointed out in another post here that the competing Lenovo Y540 runs more silent at idle or when browsing, though I have not tested it personally. This much noise while running minimal processes (browsing, documents, standard streaming) should be given a solution since it has been repeatedly requested as a consumer issue.

So since we are at the mercy of Acer or Predator to eventually maybe release an update to control this I will be getting rid of this laptop, and finding one from a company that treats their users like we can be competent if we so choose to customize a common feature. If anyone has an actual solution to fan noise at idle in the meantime, I'd be glad to read it.

_______
Acer Predator Helios 300 (2019)
Model Name: Predator PH315-52 (PH315-52-78VL)