next@acer 2020

Triton 500 battery drain when shut down

CharlieBrownCharlieBrown Member Posts: 21

Tinkerer

I just got it and did all the updates, turned off fast startup and I calculate it loses nearly 2% of charge per day (about 1600 mWh) without AC. I use the battery report along with observing it takes about 500 mWh to shut down and restart which I subtract out.

I have the i7-9750H and 2060 configuration.

Anyone else experience this?

Plus what is your typical battery life when not gaming? Is it around 4-5 hours?
«1

FAQ & Answers

  • MaClaneMaClane ACE Posts: 30,108 Trailblazer
    Good evening CharlieBrown !

    The issue of "head loss" is perfectly normal.
    Lithium-ion batteries lose charge even when not in use.
    Therefore you should always keep it charged and calibrated.

    About the duration, there is no "average" value for duration.
    Numerous factors will interfere with the duration which mainly depends on how the user is using the machine.

    First, understand better about the architecture of a mobile device (in this case a notebook).
    Notebook components (mainly processor and video) only achieve maximum performance when plugged into the power outlet.

    This time can vary due to many factors: air conditioning in cooler and cooler temperatures, the sum of the applications you have on your machine running, services in the background, among others.

    See the following diagram:
    OS + Configuration Applications + Services = Requisitions
    Requisitions consume resources.
    Features are all types of physical memories (HD and storage devices), volatile (RAM and video memories), processors (CPU and GPU) and connections (Wireless, USB, etc.) available on your system.
    The more requisitions, the more resources are spent and consequently the energy consumption increases.
    So there are several factors of settings that may be undermining the power of your battery.

    Just to note, the 2 largest power consumers in a notebook are the screen and the Wireless system.
    This Wireless System understands for any request made by your equipment to the connection point (router, modem or access point).
    This includes beacons, direct access (such as accessing a website, online videos or an online game) and indirect ones (such as google update, setam services, among others).

    Ideally, always use the appliance plugged in and with the power options set to "High Performance".
    Using only the battery, the system architecture does not allow maximum machine performance to be achieved.

    To improve this duration, you can follow some tips by doing certain processes:

    Set the notebook to the power options for economy mode when using only the battery;
    Select the option to decrease the brightness on the monitor when in the battery;
    Use the appliance in an airy place so that the product does not overheat;
    Perform initial cell calibration, as reported in the product manual.
    Perform the following procedures:

    CALIBRATION AND BATTERY RESET

    First, disable Quick Start in the power options and disconnect the notebook from the power outlet.


    httpsikinja-imgcomgawker-mediaimageuploads--xWOn54Iw--c_scalef_autofl_progressiveq_80w_8001526844273443938480png

    BATTERY CONTROLLER RESET
    Access the device manager and look for the "acpi-compatible control method battery driver" and "Microsoft AC Adapter" and give it up.
    Then restart the notebook for Windows to reinstall and remove any errors.


    httpsimagesdrivereasycomwp-contentuploads201811img_5bfe7020cb7efjpg

    Process to reset the battery

        Disconnect the power adapter.
        Locate the hole to reset the battery in the bottom of the computer.
        He inserted a small clip into the hole. Hold the reset button for 05 seconds.
        Let the computer rest for 5 minutes without power.
        Plug in the power adapter and turn on the system.




    External Battery Pack

    If your notebook has an external battery, proceed as follows:
    1- Unplug the appliance from the mains and then disconnect the battery.
    2- Press the power button for thirty seconds, so that the static power is dissipated.
    3 - Replace the battery and turn the unit on.

    Process for calibrating the battery

    For this, you must turn off the device and give a 100% charge.
    Then unplug and use the battery until the battery runs out.
    Reload it as before.
    Repeat the process 3 times so that all cells are fully calibrated.


    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um Curtir, marque como Solucionado e clique em Promover!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a Like, flag as Fixed and click Promote!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!
              
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 54,256 Trailblazer
    It would also be interesting for you to check if this function is active in acer quick access:

    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,230 Pathfinder
    edited January 13
    CharlieBrown all internal batteries if properly used (not gaming on battery) and maintained by calibrating it once every 3 months or so will last a long time i have mine on AC for 2 years non stop 24/7 and i only have 11% wear i just upgraded a nitro 5 today that its much newer than mine only has 6/7 months old and already has 25% wear so it depends on how you use it and how you maintain it 


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • CharlieBrownCharlieBrown Member Posts: 21

    Tinkerer

    Ha! I didn't even know I had a Quick Access program or that the laptop had always-on USB. I turned it off, I'll see what happens. How come this isn't an option in the BIOS? I didn't see it in there so I thought the laptop didn't support it.
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,230 Pathfinder
    CharlieBrown yes all predator/nitro have it can also be switched off in the bios if it doesnt work on quick access for some reason and its only one of the usb 3.0 ports (in case f the newer ones who have more than one) usually always the right side (may vary upon models) :)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • CharlieBrownCharlieBrown Member Posts: 21

    Tinkerer

    I did not find a way to turn that off in BIOS. Anyway I turned it off in Quick Access but it appeared not to change the drain when shut down. I see that each day the battery capacity is dropping a bit. It's still above the design capacity by about 2000 mWh right now. Will it stabilize at design capacity and then drop more slowly? Could the fact being a new battery cause the self-discharge I am seeing... maybe it isn't really discharging this much but it's a measurement error and it'll fix itself over time?

    I tried a Lenovo laptop that drained 8% per day after making sure everything I can turn off is off, so this is a definite improvement. Maybe the motherboard is designed more like a desktop motherboard that is meant to draw power when off? It's an NVIDIA motherboard right?
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,230 Pathfinder
    CharlieBrown if your battery still above the designed capacity it would probably stabilize  in due time and the mobo has power when off because the battery its always connected theres always power running through the mobo unless you would probably perform a power drain every time you shut it down 


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 54,256 Trailblazer
    Is it possible that fast start up is interfering with something? I wonder why fast start up usually uses a small percentage of battery power.
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • CharlieBrownCharlieBrown Member Posts: 21

    Tinkerer

    Is it possible that fast start up is interfering with something? I wonder why fast start up usually uses a small percentage of battery power.
    No it is off. I learned to do that long ago. If others experience this and aren't worried I won't make a deal of it, but for example I have an ASUS laptop at work with an AMD Ryzen 5 Q series (3500U 15W TDP), and that battery drains insignificantly with latest windows etc. I figure more people with gaming laptops may leave it plugged in most of the time and not notice or care, but this will be used more for portability, we bought it for the nicer keyboard and CPU specs etc than gaming (yes what a waste of a 2060/144Hz!).
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 54,256 Trailblazer
    Are you sure the notebook is really shutting down and not hibernating or suspending? Check on the power options.
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • CharlieBrownCharlieBrown Member Posts: 21

    Tinkerer

    Are you sure the notebook is really shutting down and not hibernating or suspending? Check on the power options.
    Yes I am very careful to select shut down from the power menu. Also the sleepstudy report shows shutdown during this time.
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 54,256 Trailblazer
    I would try before reinstalling windows by pressing alt + 10 and try to update the bios. Is this your model? https://www.acer.com/ac/pt/BR/content/support-product/7905?b=1

    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • CharlieBrownCharlieBrown Member Posts: 21

    Tinkerer

    Model PT515-51-75BH. https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/support-product/7905?b=1
    I already updated the BIOS to 1.12. The Care Center says no updates to do. I really don't want to reinstall Windows. It showed similar battery drain when I first got it and didn't upgrade windows yet so I don't see the point in reinstalling anything.
  • CharlieBrownCharlieBrown Member Posts: 21

    Tinkerer

    This is my battery report. The sleep study report shows shutdown in these times it says suspended. Doing powercfg /lastwake shows nothing during the shutdown intervals. I have everything I can think of disabled in BIOS that might draw power, fast startup is off. What is "fast boot" in BIOS? That is different to fast startup? My battery drain in shutdown appears to be getting worse over time, now it is over 4% per 24 hours (accounting for about 400 mWh for a windows boot cycle) and appears to drain 100 mWh per hour (thus 0.1W of power draw). My full charge capacity is steadily dropping each day but still over the design capacity. I've only done maybe a couple of charge cycles and the lowest as you can see I let the battery go is 35%.

    The other strange thing you can see at top is 100% to 93% in 18 hours, this is I shut down with AC plugged in, and then unplugged it. Booting back up it's at 93%. This seems to only happen that one time. I wonder if this is Windows fake reporting charge for some battery life saving thing where it only really charged it to 93% or so and then stopped?

    I really hope there is no defective hardware here and it can be explained, I don't want to return it. This is starting to look too similar to the Lenovo Ideapad S740 that I returned 2 of because they both drained 8% per day, which also had an i7-9750H and maybe the same Intel chipset?






  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 54,256 Trailblazer
    I suggest you check out these links: 
    http://www2.advantech.eu/adf/file/munich/agenda/Fast_Boot_Technology_Boost_your_Time_to_Application.pdf
    https://www.cnet.com/how-to/what-is-windows-10s-fast-startup/
    It basically has the function of making the system boot faster. However, this function is essential for hdds. But in ssds, may increase and read and write rate. Now, on the battery, can you show us a screenshot of acer quick access as well as battery status with hwinfo64?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • CharlieBrownCharlieBrown Member Posts: 21

    Tinkerer




  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,230 Pathfinder
    CharlieBrown all the reports you posted you battery seems to be in excellent condition and i wouldnt worry much about it all batteries discharge (just a little bit) my spin5 its the same if i dont use it for a long period of time i cant say the same of my G3-572 because its always on AC 24/7 non stop since i got it 2 years ago :)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 54,256 Trailblazer
    I find it strange that full charged capacity is higher than designed capacity.
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • CharlieBrownCharlieBrown Member Posts: 21

    Tinkerer

    I find it strange that full charged capacity is higher than designed capacity.
    I am not finding that unusual, the last 2 Lenovos I tried out were all higher by 2000-3000 mWh but declined gradually. I returned them though before I could see if they would level out at design capacity. I've seen some posts and battery reports from other users that show this also. It does make me wonder the accuracy of the charge level measurements and if all new laptops start out that way and then measure more accurately in time. I hope the charge capacity does level off soon because if it keeps doing this nosedive my battery won't last a year.
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 54,256 Trailblazer
    Do you really have no device or hub connected to any usb port?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online858

afroshxt
afroshxt
Al79
Al79
Dlaniger
Dlaniger
Etfonia
Etfonia
Idicgrrl
Idicgrrl
ineuw
ineuw
InterstellarFugitive
InterstellarFugitive
JenLyn
JenLyn
Jonebare
Jonebare
Mc1234
Mc1234
picollosan
picollosan
reo2000
reo2000
SmithyBlacksmith
SmithyBlacksmith
+845 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3315

Total Points:5742

Total Accepted Answers: 289

GAMING6698 Mainframe Wrangler