Power Limit Throttling and Current/EDP Limit Throttling Helios 300

Options
nitestrike
nitestrike Member Posts: 4 New User
edited November 2023 in 2020 Archives
Hello, 

2 days ago I bought the Acer Predator Helios 300 with Nvidia GeForce 1650 Ti and i7-9750h. I started playing Dead by Daylight  (with all settings on LOW) and the temp reached 90-92, noticed Cooler Boost was not on so I turned it on so I did. Temps dropped to 85, the things is I don't want to have my fans be on max power from day 2 to be able to cool the laptop. I started researching about cpu tuning and I downloaded ThrottleStop (have it but haven't really used it) and Intel Extreme Tuning Utility. In the Intel XTU I tried undervolting by a little bit and the temps did drop by a small portion, however I noticed that even when idling I would get a red Power Limit Throttling and Current/EDP Limit Throttling with a YES on both.

The following picture is on idle, NO stress test and NO game on. How can I fix this, because I really enjoy everything else about this laptop except for it's heating problems that seem to be fixable if tuned right.

I can upload more pictures and be will be providing additional info if need be. Currently I have reverted the undervolt numbers to the default, which was -0.125 V as shown in the picture.

Answers

• nitestrike
    Options
    Additional 1: I forgot to inform you that I have contacted Acer support prior to posting here. They told me that they can only take my laptop in service and to have the geek squad check it. I told them that if I have to service a 4 day old laptop I am better off refunding it and buying a different product, hence why I am here trying to make this work.
  • belik
    belik Member Posts: 397 Seasoned Practitioner WiFi Icon
    edited December 2019
    Options
    That’s weird, you power throttle with package tdp 16w while it should be 45w
  • nitestrike
    Options
    @belik