Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Upgrade question- Acer Predator Helios 300

MSparksMSparks Member Posts: 4 New User
edited December 2019 in Predator Laptops
I just got my Acer Predator Helios 300, and love it. I want to polish it up with some upgrades since I'll be using it for music recording (I'm a guitarist). I already upgraded it to Windows 10 Pro, and want to swap out the Kingston internal M.2 with an ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB. Faster write speeds will mean less pops and cracks in my realtime audio recording. Two questions, for seasoned Acer laptop experts:
1. Will I run into heat issues with the new M.2 drive? It's faster, but I wouldn't suspect too much in the way of heat. I don't suspect I'll need to use thermal paste on the heat spreader on the new M.2 drive. Fair assessment?
2. I also guess I could add another 16G memory module if I match brand and part numbers. Memory isn't as important as storage. I could take off the bottom again, but only want to minimize it if possible. Do the Predator 300 (2019) use one memory slot, or 2x8GB?

Thank you. I only want take off the bottom once more. I'm a 30 year hardware and software tech, but I want to respect my new laptop since it's new. I've opened my Lenovo y410P so many times that it probably hates me.

Thanks all.

Edited the thread to hide personal information
Acer-Samuel

FAQ & Answers

  • phatfreezaphatfreeza Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    1) heat issues should not be a problem as the 300 comes with a heat pad to go over your m.2 drive. 
    2) mine came with 2x8gb

    i hear you about opening it up as few times as possible. i'm gathering all my parts so i can do this in one go.
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 4,846 Pathfinder
    edited December 2019
    MSparks they usually come with 2x8gb dual channel so if you wanted to add 16gb to make it 32gb dual channel you would have to probably get 2x16gb and get rid of the stock sodimms the issue here is that its an inverse mobo so theres one slot on each side you would have to disassemble it completely to access the second memory slot (depending on each exact model and number of slots may vary from country to country) and if you have any warranty seals you cant disassemble it as you will void your warranty


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • MSparksMSparks Member Posts: 4 New User
    Thanks everyone. I'll stick with 16GB of ram. I'm going to be doing music recording and light gaming, so no need to take a mobo out to add ram. The HDD will be a nice upgrade though, and as soon as I clone it, it'll be my primary drive. Data throughput is the key to running a laptop DAW.

    Greatly appreciate the answers. Peace, fellow Acer brothers and sisters.
    m.
  • belikbelik Member Posts: 397 Seasoned Practitioner
    The main upgrade you should do is repaste  =)

  • MSparksMSparks Member Posts: 4 New User
    Repaste? Not sure I follow...
  • StevenGenStevenGen Member Posts: 575 Seasoned Specialist
    Repaste means, pasting your CPU, GPU by taking the heatsink/fans assembly out, cleaning the components (CPU and GPU) and then repasting them with probably the best paste on the market called 'Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut' thermal grease, that was created especially for the extremely demanding applications and the highest expectations of the overclocking community. or you can use the 'Thermal Grizzly Minus Pad' series which is a very elastic and flexible surface area pad(s) with very high thermal conductivity, compensating for even the smallest of gaps between components and is available in a variety of different sizes and thicknesses. That's all you have to do. 
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 4,846 Pathfinder
    edited December 2019
    MSparks bare in mind that if youre gonna repaste it yourself (this if you dont have any seals to void your warranty if you have dont touch it and send it back to get it repasted) regarding the thermal pads if they arent damaged/or you didnt damaged any on disassembling it you dont need to replace them i have never replaced mine i repasted it the first week i got it with kryonaut and never had a single issue since this was 2 years ago and my temps are exactly the same as they were the day i repasted it they dropped down 25+ after repaste and also the new h300 2019 they replaced most of the thermal pads with a special thermal paste so be careful


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • MSparksMSparks Member Posts: 4 New User
    Thank you for all the info. I have the new m.2 ADATA 1tb in there. Interesting thing of note though, for the 2019 Helio 300 I have...

    Both memory modules are topside (I grabbed a picture). I may go with a memory update after all, but only if 16GB proves to be insufficient for recording. I can't imagine that being the case.

    Let me know if you want to see the undercarriage of my Helios 300. She seems to be okay with it, as long as it's tasteful pictures. LOL.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online481

alax
alax
aracelis1972
aracelis1972
Brian1155
Brian1155
brummyfan2
brummyfan2
CombatEngineer_2
CombatEngineer_2
drsn2003
drsn2003
egydiocoelho
egydiocoelho
Fallen_Her0
Fallen_Her0
Fantasticpow
Fantasticpow
fpaillao
fpaillao
GAMING6698
GAMING6698
GeorgiDimitrov28
GeorgiDimitrov28
HighSierra
HighSierra
janime3
janime3
KARANPREET
KARANPREET
Kno63
Kno63
lu4414
lu4414
lukastteles
lukastteles
MaClane
MaClane
Marirock
Marirock
mayukh24022006
mayukh24022006
missmarmaladee
missmarmaladee
NadimSilveira
NadimSilveira
Nicktempest
Nicktempest
Puppa
Puppa
ralppp
ralppp
ribeiromendes
ribeiromendes
TioOghma
TioOghma
Zlajo1988
Zlajo1988
+452 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3095

Total Points:5387

Total Accepted Answers: 271

GAMING6698 Mainframe Wrangler