Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Triton 500 Wifi issues

SyedWSyedW Member Posts: 11

Tinkerer

4 months in and the wireless adapter has already malfunctioned. Acer wants the machine shipped to them which will take 7-10 days (considering they abide by their word, which seems dubious, consider their below pat customer service experience so far). For a college student who has finals next month, how is this providing any relief? The laptop is useless without a working wifi and living without a machine for a week or so is far worse! Why can't Acer have technicians come in or at least have a repair center in major cities?

For a 1700 machine, I'd expect better quality control and FAR better customer services experience! My advice: stick to better brand names like HP, Dell or Lenovo. Acer doesn't seem to give two hoots about their customers, seemingly.

FAQ & Answers

  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,191 Trailblazer
    Open DeviceManager. Click 'network adapters' folder. Right click the wifi adapter. Uninstall the wifi adapter. Exit DeviceManager without re-installing anything. Open ControlPanel. Search 'button'. Click 'change what the power buttons do' in left pane. Click 'change settings that currently are unavailable'. Scroll down and uncheck the box for fast startup if not already unchecked. Shutdown Windows. Turn machine back on. Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • SyedWSyedW Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    JackE said:
    Open DeviceManager. Click 'network adapters' folder. Right click the wifi adapter. Uninstall the wifi adapter. Exit DeviceManager without re-installing anything. Open ControlPanel. Search 'button'. Click 'change what the power buttons do' in left pane. Click 'change settings that currently are unavailable'. Scroll down and uncheck the box for fast startup if not already unchecked. Shutdown Windows. Turn machine back on. Jack E/NJ
    Didn't change anything. Still keeps disconnecting. 
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,191 Trailblazer
    Open DeviceManager again. Click 'network adapters' folder. Right click the wifi  or wlan adapter. Click properties. Click the advance tab. Click 'preferred band'. Change 'no preference' to '2.4GHz band'.  If still dropping, then try the '5GHz' band. Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • SyedWSyedW Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    All I see is a globe on the bottom right on my taskbar with no networks to connect to. I have tried reinstalling/uninstalling drivers, but, zilch.
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 4,837 Pathfinder
    edited November 2019
    SyedW probably a hardware issue sometimes it happens you should send it back for them to check if they asked to you but as last attempt you could try a factory stock recovery clean install (backup whatever you need first) ALT+F10 on boot and select delete everything option to rule out any software issues if the issue persists after this its definitely hardware also check you router if somehow its kicking you out due to overload or something else check the channel settings changing channel sometimes helps when there is too much devices around you on the same channel always setup a channel that no one is using  sometimes this might also happen depending on the router if its good or not i never had any issues with any of my fritzboxes :)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • SyedWSyedW Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    xapim said:
    SyedW probably a hardware issue sometimes it happens you should send it back for them to check if they asked to you but as last attempt you could try a factory stock recovery clean install (backup whatever you need first) ALT+F10 on boot and select delete everything option to rule out any software issues if the issue persists after this its definitely hardware also check you router if somehow its kicking you out due to overload or something else check the channel settings changing channel sometimes helps when there is too much devices around you on the same channel always setup a channel that no one is using  sometimes this might also happen depending on the router if its good or not i never had any issues with any of my fritzboxes :)
    Did a fresh install but the issue persists. Tried multiple locations - home, school, starbucks but no luck. I have finals next month and its extremely stressful living without a laptop. Is there any way my issue could be expedited?
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,191 Trailblazer
    SyedW >>>Is there any way my issue could be expedited>>>

    Sorry. You have posted to a ACER users group. We're not ACER employees or customer service reps. So we cannot directly expedite any ACER repair services. As  xapim suggested, you should send it back to the ACER service center employees to check if they asked you to. Jack E/NJ




    Jack E/NJ
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 4,837 Pathfinder
    SyedW unfortunately seems to be some hardware related issue you would have to contact acer support from your country directly to arrange a repair as @JackE stated above we are not acer employees/support neither this community is a direct acer support line we are just normal users like you that are only here to help to troubleshoot with our best knowledge any issues that may arise in the best way we can :)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • SyedWSyedW Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    Well, now the problem seems to have 'evolved'.

    It no longer disconnects every few mins but stay connected for hours at length. Still think it's a hardware issue?
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,191 Trailblazer
    Yes. Especially if laptop has recently been exposed to extreme temp  variations that could affect quality of socket & connector contacts. The m.2 wifi card might simply need to be re-seated a few times on the mainboard m.2 socket to help assure good contact.  Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • SyedWSyedW Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    JackE said:
    Yes. Especially if laptop has recently been exposed to extreme temp  variations that could affect quality of socket & connector contacts. The m.2 wifi card might simply need to be re-seated a few times on the mainboard m.2 socket to help assure good contact.  Jack E/NJ
    Can I do it myself without voiding warranty?
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,191 Trailblazer
    You should be OK if no screw or cover tamper seals/tapes are torn and nothing obvious is broken or cracked in doing so. 10 screws must be removed from the bottom cover and cover pried off. Then the battery pack is disconnected from the mainboard, two screws removed, then lifted out. Remove the antenna cables and one screw. Then re-seat the m.2 card a half dozen or so times to help clean up its contacts. Button it back up.  Don't worry too much about breaking a few invisible plastic catches on the upper and lower case when prying the cover off --- that's what the ten screws are there for.  Jack E/NJ


    Jack E/NJ
  • SyedWSyedW Member Posts: 11

    Tinkerer

    Not sure if I can take out the screws without messing with the seal. I'll just send it I think.
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,191 Trailblazer
    Are there seals over screws or and/case seams? Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • charles_brcharles_br Member Posts: 2 New User
    JackE said:
    You should be OK if no screw or cover tamper seals/tapes are torn and nothing obvious is broken or cracked in doing so. 10 screws must be removed from the bottom cover and cover pried off. Then the battery pack is disconnected from the mainboard, two screws removed, then lifted out. Remove the antenna cables and one screw. Then re-seat the m.2 card a half dozen or so times to help clean up its contacts. Button it back up.  Don't worry too much about breaking a few invisible plastic catches on the upper and lower case when prying the cover off --- that's what the ten screws are there for.  Jack E/NJ


    Hi. Where have you found those diagrams? I have the same issue related by the OP and I think I'm going to try to fix it by myself. I've bought my Triton 500 during a travel to Switzerland and I live in Brazil, so there's no way I could ship it back to Acer.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online167

caroleBM
caroleBM
EuSystems
EuSystems
Faisal01
Faisal01
Fawaz2019
Fawaz2019
GAMING6698
GAMING6698
harshgupta718
harshgupta718
Shawafkhan
Shawafkhan
The_Bomsbas
The_Bomsbas
+159 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3042

Total Points:5297

Total Accepted Answers: 265

GAMING6698 Mainframe Wrangler