How to run "Acer Predator 17 G9-791" from a new SSD with win10 added in an empty slot.

Options
chiyoda
chiyoda Member Posts: 2 New User
edited November 2023 in 2019 Archives
  Hello, I'm new to this Acer community.
  I purchased "Acer Predator 17 G9-791" on June, 2016 (SNID: NXQ03AA001XXXXXXXXXXXX).
  The capacity of the "current SSD" (Lite-On IT 128GB SSD Solid State Drive LCS-128L9S) is only a little (less than 20GB). So I want to add a "new SSD" worth 500GB to one of the two SSD slots that is empty.
  Would you please check the following points?
  I haven't touched the physical part of my PC other than adding 16GB of RAM into a free slot a few weeks ago and making my current memory 32GB RAM.

* First "existing SSD slot" (tentative name #A); There seems to be an "existing SSD" (Lite-On IT 128GB SSD Solid State Drive LCS-128L9S) in slot #A far from the motherboard (upper side when the bottom of the PC is up: "M.2 SATA" type). Is that right?

* Second "new SSD slot" (tentative name #B); Is it possible to add a "new SSD" in slot #B near the motherboard (below the existing SSD above: "M.2 22110 PCIe NVMe" type)?

* Example of "new SSD" that works in slot #B (M.2 22110 PCIe NVMe) above; will any of the three below work without problems? Does the 22mm long SSD connect to the 28mm long slot #B and work properly?

- "Crucial P1 500GB 3D NAND NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD - CT500P1SSD8" CDN$ 88.70 
  Size "2280" (Item dimensions; 80 x 2 x 22 mm).
- "Crucial P1 500GB 3D NAND NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD - CT500P1SSD8"CDN$ 88.70 
  Size "2280" (Item dimensions; 22 x 80 x 2 mm).
- "Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB NVMe M.2 Internal SSD (MZ-V7S500/AM) [Canada Version]"CDN$ 144.99
  Size "2280" (Item dimensions; 22 x 23 x 80 mm). Is the height 23mm OK when installed?

* Check the procedure for operating "New SSD";
  The "Current SSD" in slot #A contains Win10 and existing programs.