Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Install Samsung 970 Evo plus as boot drive in Acer Predator Helios 500 (PH517-51)

brwster455brwster455 Member Posts: 28 Troubleshooter
i intend to replace the stock ssd with a new 500 Samsung Evo plus. I have already installed the new Samsung 970 in Slot 1 to clone the oringinal boot drive in slot 2. I cannot install the Samsung SSD NVM driver without 1st switching to AHCI mode. Every time i try to switch to AHCI mode the laptop will not boot. Do i need to switch to AHCI mode from Raid mode for this to work or can i just leave in Raid mode after cloning and put the Samsung SSD in the boot m2 slot.

FAQ & Answers

  • PredatorHelios500PredatorHelios500 Member Posts: 71 Devotee
    Did you turn off Secure Boot?
  • brwster455brwster455 Member Posts: 28 Troubleshooter
    thanks for reply. I don't have option in the bios to turn that off.
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 4,836 Pathfinder
    edited September 2019
    brwster455 you have to setup a supervisor password in order to be able to switch off secure boot and some other options not available without password then set everything back as it was (no password) after you finish with it and you dont need to switch into ahci mode to clone just use easeus partition master and clone you stock drive into the new one

    PS: how many stock drives do you have?  do you have a raid setup ? or is the bios just setup to raid but nothing set ? if you have 2 drives of the same size in raid 0 you would have to backup everything from the drives and break the raid but again i dunno what setup you have there so i cant advise anything else 


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • brwster455brwster455 Member Posts: 28 Troubleshooter
    Just 970 evo plus as boot drive and intel optain in other slot to accelerate the hdd.
    I gave up on cloning oem stock drive. And just did system restore I had on thumb drive. 970 evo working fast with intel rst raid drivers. 3500 seq read. 3200 write. Only problem is device manager still showing oem stock drive an not 970 evo plus ssd.
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 4,836 Pathfinder
    edited September 2019
    brwster455 the intel optane its useless its only good for someone who has a low grade system with only a normal hdd an no money to upgrade and it will only be used to cache the hdd and cannot be used as physical drive its just basically used as cache memory if you really have a optane drive it wont do you any good you dont need it at all it will not accelerate the hdd unless you have the hdd as main os system drive the same happens with the sshds they are completely useless whne not used as system drives (i have 2 and i can confirm it) for those who upgrade their normal hdd to a sshd just for store data/games etc its a waste of money they are even slower that the normal hdds when used as storage

    Ps even if i were in that case of only having a hdd and a optane to cache it i would get rid of the optane right away and replace it for a m.2 sata ssd and get the hdd cloned into the m.2 to move the os into it, usually some nitro 5 (the cheaper ones) have this conf hdd+optane 


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online300

AghaFL
AghaFL
AndresUr
AndresUr
Apolo_007
Apolo_007
CaCoMF
CaCoMF
Dail89
Dail89
Dany06
Dany06
DavidReynolds
DavidReynolds
egydiocoelho
egydiocoelho
Eze1k
Eze1k
Falco
Falco
JackE
JackE
Madushan97
Madushan97
MarcosL
MarcosL
MarcusViniciusBastos
MarcusViniciusBastos
Mentip
Mentip
Mien1972
Mien1972
msantosbr
msantosbr
Ninjakitty844
Ninjakitty844
Ozeias
Ozeias
Paliubashas
Paliubashas
Raveneyes
Raveneyes
Tomasdf
Tomasdf
usu1479
usu1479
Yahi
Yahi
+276 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 2982

Total Points:5132

Total Accepted Answers: 255

GAMING6698 Mainframe Wrangler