Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Acer Nitro AN515-53 You're currently running a version of Windows that's nearing the end of support.

NasdaqNasdaq Posts: 35Member Enthusiast
edited September 14 in Nitro and Aspire Gaming

Nitro AN515-53 - 1803 os build


You're currently running a version of Windows that's nearing the end of support. We recommend you update to the most recent version of Windows 10 now to get the latest features and security improvements.

so seems something has to give soon with 1903 update, unsure how exactly it came to this. This laptop is not even a year old, and yet he we are where consumers will be at risk.

Best Answer

  • andylbandylb Posts: 1,034 Valued Contributor
    edited September 14 Accepted Answer
    This is a Microsoft update for Windows 10 and nothing to do with Acer or your laptop The update to Windiws 10 v1903 can be downloaded directly from Microsoft 

    Please click "YES" to "Did this answer the question" if my answer helped solve your problem. 

    Thank you and have a blessed day  B)


FAQ & Answers

  • andylbandylb Posts: 1,034Member Valued Contributor
    edited September 14 Accepted Answer
    This is a Microsoft update for Windows 10 and nothing to do with Acer or your laptop The update to Windiws 10 v1903 can be downloaded directly from Microsoft 

    Please click "YES" to "Did this answer the question" if my answer helped solve your problem. 

    Thank you and have a blessed day  B)


  • andylbandylb Posts: 1,034Member Valued Contributor

    Please click "YES" to "Did this answer the question" if my answer helped solve your problem. 

    Thank you and have a blessed day  B)


  • NasdaqNasdaq Posts: 35Member Enthusiast
    andylb said:
    This is a Microsoft update for Windows 10 and nothing to do with Acer or your laptop The update to Windiws 10 v1903 can be downloaded directly from Microsoft 
    Isn't Acer suppose to work with Microsoft to make sure these updates are compatible, I mean this laptop isn't even running build 1809. I'm fully aware I can update manually, But I'm also aware oh how that usually turns out. I'd rather just have the build pushed to my device, the way its supposed to be.
  • andylbandylb Posts: 1,034Member Valued Contributor
    edited September 14
    It pushed to mine my friend. The update feature is part of Window Update and to my knowledge it's  not anything to do with Acer

    Please click "YES" to "Did this answer the question" if my answer helped solve your problem. 

    Thank you and have a blessed day  B)


  • NasdaqNasdaq Posts: 35Member Enthusiast
    edited September 14
    andylb said:
    It pushed to mine my friend
    what model do you have, it's tried to push to mine several times and fails. Do I need to update the bios or something? I'm on v 1.25.
  • andylbandylb Posts: 1,034Member Valued Contributor
    edited September 14
    I have AN515-42 BIOS 1.16 I purchased it in January if this year and mine wasn't even 1809 either, however it was the current Windows version at the time I bought it so Acer did there job correctly. It then becomes Microsoft's responsibility to update their operating system. I would read the article at Microsoft website

    Please click "YES" to "Did this answer the question" if my answer helped solve your problem. 

    Thank you and have a blessed day  B)


  • Alpha_d3vilAlpha_d3vil Posts: 17Member

    Tinkerer

    i purrchased mine(an515-52) on 31 august.mine came with windows version 1809  OS build 17763.168........................if i update manually to 1903 manually will i lose windows activation?should i update manually?or keep using this build
  • QueenLilithQueenLilith Posts: 9Member New User
    I purchased AN515-54 few days ago and I did update to 1903 by myself downloading it from microsoft
    Windows update didnt find this.
  • andylbandylb Posts: 1,034Member Valued Contributor
    edited September 14
    i purrchased mine(an515-52) on 31 august.mine came with windows version 1809  OS build 17763.168........................if i update manually to 1903 manually will i lose windows activation?should i update manually?or keep using this build

    It's fine to update manually, and yes you do need 1903 because most driver updates are based on 1903.
    Microsoft gives you that option in the link I supplied above. Guys this isn't a NEW Windows, it is an update to the Windows you own, it's just a big fancy feature update
    The update instructions are here
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4028685/windows-10-get-the-update

    Please click "YES" to "Did this answer the question" if my answer helped solve your problem. 

    Thank you and have a blessed day  B)


  • Alpha_d3vilAlpha_d3vil Posts: 17Member

    Tinkerer

    andylb said:
    i purrchased mine(an515-52) on 31 august.mine came with windows version 1809  OS build 17763.168........................if i update manually to 1903 manually will i lose windows activation?should i update manually?or keep using this build

    It's fine to update manually, and yes you do need 1903 because most driver updates are based on 1903.
    Microsoft gives you that option in the link I supplied above. Guys this isn't a NEW Windows, it is an update to the Windows you own, it's just a big fancy feature update
    The update instructions are here
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4028685/windows-10-get-the-update
    Ok then i will update myself and hope nothing goes wrong since windows updates can be trash sometimes.They patch old problems and create new problems and the cycle continues.
  • andylbandylb Posts: 1,034Member Valued Contributor
    If I have answered the question please click YES thankyou

    Please click "YES" to "Did this answer the question" if my answer helped solve your problem. 

    Thank you and have a blessed day  B)


  • NasdaqNasdaq Posts: 35Member Enthusiast
    edited September 14
    Update: updated manually and everything seems to work, unsure why it would never install automatically. Had issues with shutting down (getting windows ready don't turn off your computer - hang) after applying the first update after successfully updating to 1903, but seems to be OK now. That update was intel corporation - scsiadapter 17.0.0.1072, but its applied now and working ok.
  • Alpha_d3vilAlpha_d3vil Posts: 17Member

    Tinkerer

    i also updated to 1903 and faced no problem during installation.Now onto the driver updates
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online141

Deathblade
Deathblade
Hodir
Hodir
sri369
sri369
+138 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Here?

So, what are the rules of this place? Check out our Acer Community User Agreement. Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Member Highlight

We would like to feature andylb as a destacated member in the Acer Community. With his dedication and support efforts, andylb has become a Valued Contributor . On behalf of the Acer Community team and all our users, we want to recognize and thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 1034

Total Points:2627

Total Accepted Answers: 127

andylb Valued Contributor
Intel Extreme KAtowise 2019
Predator Join the forum discussions on our
Predator line of products.
Find out about the Acer ACE program.