Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

I’m still pretty new to this but I want to upgrade the ram in my acer aspire e5-576.

Crucial says it’s compatible with ddr3l 1600 soddim 1.35v. Now I don’t know what any of that means. Do I need to make sure whatever I buy matches that exactly? Also doe the brands need to match? If so I guess I should just take the one that’s in it out and buy two 8gb rams of the same brand? Thanks in advance for your help. 

Best Answer

• JackEJackE Posts: 18,049 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    Yes, the specsheet indicates 16GB maximum with a pair of 8GB DDR3Laptop modules 1.35volts 1600 MHz speed. Jack E/NJ

FAQ & Answers

• brummyfan2brummyfan2 Posts: 12,826ACE Trailblazer
    Hi,
    Could you please install CPU-z free program, find out the model of the current memory module form SPD and memory tabs, post the snip here.
    https://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html
    Please don't click "Like" but click "Yes" for "Did this answer the question", if I resolve the problem.
    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/22060540
  • BigBlurtonBigBlurton Posts: 10Member New User
    I have that downloaded already actually. What do you need from that to help me out?
  • JackEJackE Posts: 18,049ACE Trailblazer
    You should download and run Crucial's scanner since some model's came equipped with different RAM modules. Usually best to get a  matched pair (same brand same specs) since this model will operate faster than an unmatched pair. Jack E/NJ
    So i should get a pair that matches everything the crucial scan said? Ddr3l, 1600 sodimm, 1.35v? Some brands better than others ?