predator triton 500 not charging after fresh start

shangushangu Member Posts: 6 New User
i got this laptop 2 days ago and did a bunch of fiddling and undervolting but the cpu package power was fluctuating a bit so i tried the "fresh start" option in settings, and now the computer's not charging when i plug in ac adapter. there's no amber/blue battery light at all, no blinking. computer still works normally, the battery's still depleting slowly, just no charge.

the outlet is fine. adapter seems to be secured/attached properly. i tried uninstalling the 2 battery drivers in device manager and restarting. also tried the battery reset pinhole thing with a paper clip and shutting down, no luck.

i'm worried i might have to update BIOS — i think i have v1.01 and i see that there's a 1.06 version on the product support pg. although there are a lot of online warnings about permanent dmg and all that so i'm wary of doing it...

maybe i should also try a factory reset?
«134

FAQ & Answers

  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 58,433 Trailblazer
    Can you tell the exact model of your notebook?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • shangushangu Member Posts: 6 New User
    it’s the PT515-51(-75L8 i think). rtx 2080 max-q, 16gb ram, 512gb ssd

    also i checked with a multimeter and the adapter seems to be working
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 58,433 Trailblazer
    Have you tried reinstalling windows, but using the alt + f10 command before the Acer logo?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • shangushangu Member Posts: 6 New User
    ok well... i tried doing that but i think the laptop just died mid-reinstallation... now when i press the power button the power light and keyboard backlighting sometimes flashes blue for an instant, and the orange light blinks slowly for a few seconds. haven't gotten it to boot up again
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,581 Pathfinder
    edited July 2019
    shangu <<<<i think the laptop just died mid-reinstallation...>>>> thats weird were you on battery only when you tried to perform a factory reset ? just asking because you have to always be on AC when performing these kind of actions because if youre only on battery and the battery dies it could even damage the recovery partition and make it unrecoverable not working anymore in this case you would have to forget the acer recovery and use a windows usb drive also have you tried a battery power drain just to see if you can get into bios or at least start the recovery again because as u stated it failed in mid recovery it will not boot again until you restart the recovery again the system is corrupted now


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • shangushangu Member Posts: 6 New User
    i mean the ac adapter wasn't working or charging at all, that's what i was trying to fix in the first place. i saw some people advise to do a factory reset so i tried it.

    so it's either all out of power now or it's just completely corrupted because there are no lights whatsoever when i press power button currently.

    should i try the usb thing and battery power drain & what should i do for those? or just take to service center?
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,581 Pathfinder
    edited July 2019
    shangu said:
    i mean the ac adapter wasn't working or charging at all, that's what i was trying to fix in the first place. i saw some people advise to do a factory reset so i tried it.

    so it's either all out of power now or it's just completely corrupted because there are no lights whatsoever when i press power button currently.

    should i try the usb thing and battery power drain & what should i do for those? or just take to service center?
    Have you checked if your adapter is faulty with a voltmeter its also a possibility for a  battery power drain disconnect from ac press/hold the power drain switch for 30s let it rest for 2/3h then try to boot into bios reset defaults


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 58,433 Trailblazer
    Would not it be better to replace the notebook with the reseller? Do the battery and power leds flash when you plug in the power adapter?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • shangushangu Member Posts: 6 New User
    i’ve never replaced or returned a laptop before and don’t know how to go about it. i thought i could just take the laptop to a service center and they could replace it via the 1yr carry-in warranty. or i mean i could return it, hasn’t been 15 days yet. but idk how to return.
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,581 Pathfinder
    edited July 2019
    shangu said:
    i’ve never replaced or returned a laptop before and don’t know how to go about it. i thought i could just take the laptop to a service center and they could replace it via the 1yr carry-in warranty. or i mean i could return it, hasn’t been 15 days yet. but idk how to return.
    shangu Contact the seller/shop where you bought it and ask them to either replace it or give you your money back so you can buy it from somewhere else if you are still on the granted return policy time frame imposed  by them they have to do it they cant refuse it


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 58,433 Trailblazer
    I agree with the colleague xapim!
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • shangushangu Member Posts: 6 New User
    bump.

    so i returned the laptop to amazon and got a refund (couldn't replace because they said there was some sort of technical issue — which is annoying because when i bought the laptop it was discounted and now it isn't anymore). now the question is whether to buy another predator triton 500 or switch to another brand because i'm worried that the same issue might happen again. because i still don't know what happened to make the battery stop charging.

    i want a computer that can do some graphics work with programs like unity, touchdesigner, cinema4d, after effects, and then i might play a *few* intensive games but that won't be the main goal. i was thinking about maybe an msi gs65 stealth because of its bigger storage and ram: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07L6NTTR6 this one is from computer upgrade king (anyone have any experience with them?)

    the main cons with the msi gs65 are that it doesn't have any option to disable optimus in BIOS and i know optimus can sometimes cause a lot of issues with development stuff. and the msi doesn't have a precision touchpad which i would prefer.

    maybe i'll get another triton 500?





  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,581 Pathfinder
    edited July 2019
    shangu either another T500 or one of the new H300 the older but still good enough H500 and going up in price the 2 beasts H700/T900 you have many variants to choose from :) because they are built in an assembly line no manufacturer can guarantee 100% that there wont be faulty units because there will always be not only on laptops this happens on any other device

    The storage and ram you can always upgrade to your needs just make sure you get the cpu/gpu combo that fits your needs


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • dommekingdommeking Member Posts: 33 Troubleshooter
    Hi everybody,
    I also have a Triton 500 and after reapplying my thermal paste on cpu and gpu my battery doesn't charge when plugging in. I tried rescrewing every screw (tight and loose) but no change. I also tried the 4sec press on the button on the bottom panel of the laptop and leavong it for 5mins. Also I reinstalled windows twice (with and without acers preinstalled programs) but nothing seems to work.
    I can't seem to find a button like in the case of the predator 17 mentioned above.
    then Pls help I'm at 41% and for now can use my laptop only with charger

    PS: I have the i5-8300H and rtx 2060 model if that is of any relevance
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 58,433 Trailblazer
    @dommeking Maybe this button is not being properly pressed?

    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • dommekingdommeking Member Posts: 33 Troubleshooter
    Hi, with my model there is not such button
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 58,433 Trailblazer
    Are you sure the button is not anywhere else? Depending on the revision of the motherboard, the interrupt button may have been removed.
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • dommekingdommeking Member Posts: 33 Troubleshooter
    Hi, I found a similar looking button on the other side of the motherboard. Under it the word "reset" is written. This is the button one pushes when pushing something through the battery reset hole on the bottom of the case. (in the pictures it's in the little box under the cpu fan)


  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 58,433 Trailblazer
    Have you tried pressing this battery reset button for five minutes and leaving the notebook off for five minutes?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • dommekingdommeking Member Posts: 33 Troubleshooter
    You mean pressing it for 5 seconds? Yes, but it didn't fix it
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online1.9K

BradTeBeest
BradTeBeest
Dagoode1
Dagoode1
gigamb
gigamb
Hexi
Hexi
Metalkon
Metalkon
Micura2018
Micura2018
orokingman
orokingman
ScouterGerry
ScouterGerry
StevenGen
StevenGen
ttttt
ttttt
V1tal
V1tal
+1.9K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos