Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

My Acer Aspire 1-A114-31-C4HH - came with 30GB. How can I increase the storage capacity?

ElGrecoElGreco Posts: 5Member New User
edited August 14 in Legacy Laptops and Netbooks
I have an Aspire 1 notebook. It came with 30 GB and I want to increase the storage capacity. How can I do it? (I think it has solid state storage only. No hard drive)

Best Answer

  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 10,478 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    Good Morning ElGreco !

    If it has been resolved, check accepting responses to close and be able to help others in the forum!


    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



FAQ & Answers

  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 10,478ACE Trailblazer
    Good evening ElGreco !

    What EXACT model of your laptop?
    Some models do not support any type of disk installation, and only eMMC memory can be directed to Windows.



    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



  • ElGrecoElGreco Posts: 5Member New User
    Here is the information you requested.  Aspire 1-A114-31-C4HH,   MODEL # N17Q4.  The device has an under panel with several phillips screws. No indication of a hard drive. I am thinking of opening th panel and look for the SSD memory and replace it with a 64 GB chip. Is that possible?
  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 10,478ACE Trailblazer
    The internal flash memory is eMMC and is integrated directly into the motherboard, and its replacement or replacement is not possible.
    Some models, depending on the region, have built-in support for HDD or M.2 2280 SSD.
    In that case, I suggest you open the back cover and check the availability of these slots in your device:

    HDD location:

    SSD location:


    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



  • ElGrecoElGreco Posts: 5Member New User
    MaClane, thank you for your response. I will take the back panel off and check to see if there is room for a HD or additional SSD memory. Your 2nd picture helps to guide me. If there is room, i will contact you again to ask for the part number of the device that I can use. Many thanks.
  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 10,478ACE Trailblazer
    OK!
    I'm waiting!


    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



  • rdbeeerdbeee Posts: 2Member New User
    hello, so are  you saying that if i have acer laptop Aspire 1 A114-31 Model N17Q4 there is no possible way to install external hard drive?  I have no memory left for Window Updates and I don't know how to tinker inside or do complicated processes.  I just want to buy an external hard drive that I can stick in an open slot and have more memory.  Is this possible????
  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 10,478ACE Trailblazer
    Good evening rdbeee !

    Please, to keep the forum organized, as directed by moderators, do not post to topics that are already open, inactive, or resolved.
    Always open a new topic.
    Put an @ in front of my name that I properly guide you there.


    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



  • rdbeeerdbeee Posts: 2Member New User
    @MaClane
    hi how do I post this question:

    hello, so are  you saying that if i have acer laptop Aspire 1 A114-31 Model N17Q4 there is no possible way to install external hard drive?  I have no memory left for Window Updates and I don't know how to tinker inside or do complicated processes.  I just want to buy an external hard drive that I can stick in an open slot and have more memory.  Is this possible????
  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 10,478ACE Trailblazer
    rdbeee ,

    Ask the question by opening a new topic here:

    https://community.acer.com/en/post/question/en




    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



  • ElGrecoElGreco Posts: 5Member New User
    Just to close on this topic. I called ACER and they conformed that the model on notebook that I have is NOT upgradable for storage capacity. The SSD chip is hardwired on the PC board and it cannot be removed or replaced. This is my second computer and I can continue to use for limited work with the amount of storage that I have. I use thumbdrives for work that requires extended storage. Thank you for your help.


  • ElGrecoElGreco Posts: 5Member New User
    Just to close on this topic. I called ACER and they conformed that the model on notebook that I have is NOT upgradable for storage capacity. The SSD chip is hardwired on the PC board and it cannot be removed or replaced. This is my second computer and I can continue to use for limited work with the amount of storage that I have. I use thumbdrives for work that requires extended storage. Thank you for your help.

  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 10,478ACE Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    Good Morning ElGreco !

    If it has been resolved, check accepting responses to close and be able to help others in the forum!


    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online117

222
222
cezsaraboza48
cezsaraboza48
Piter
Piter
Sixfootdig
Sixfootdig
spidypratim
spidypratim
TF21045
TF21045
xapim
xapim
Zizou87
Zizou87
+109 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Here?

So, what are the rules of this place? Check out our Acer Community User Agreement. Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Intel Extreme KAtowise 2019
Predator Join the forum discussions on our
Predator line of products.
Find out about the Acer ACE program.