SSD and Bios Acer ES 15 ( ES1-521-88R9 )

MarkoMarko Member Posts: 9

Tinkerer

Hi,

So like most people here i have problem with my Acer ES 15 ( ES1-521-88R9 ). It is AMD quad processor A8 with 8GB dd3 and R5 graphic card.

I have tried everything including updating Bios and fresh clean installation after reset. It is still really slow so I was thinking to switch on SSD.

Does anybody know does it support additional ssd hdd so i can put it in and install operation system on it and then have my 1000GB HDD as second drive or there is space for one only?

And is UEFI or Legacy BIOS boot mode faster, better for my laptop.

Sorry if this questions are silly but any help would be appreciated since I am not expert in these things.

Kind Regards

Marko





Best Answers

  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 22,284 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    You may replace the old 2.5" HDD with a 2.5" SSD, remove the DVD tray and mount the old HDD on a DVD caddy. You definitely want  UEFI bootstrap, not legacy BIOS. Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 59,005 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    The hdd port and the hdd are integrated into the motherboard! Also, your notebook does not have a m2 door!
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 22,284 Trailblazer
    edited July 2019 Accepted Answer
    As    egydiocoelho   says, no m.2 slot. Google 'HDD Caddy'. You must have a caddy to replace the DVD with old 2.5" 1TB HDD if you also want to use a 2.5" SSD. Jack E/NJ

    Jack E/NJ
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 22,284 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    Go to this link for specs on compatible 2.5" SSDs. https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatible-upgrade-for/Acer/aspire-es1-521
    You don't have to purchase from them but they are competitive and usually guarantee what they recommend will work in your machine no questions asked. Jack E/NJ


    Jack E/NJ
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 22,284 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    Either slot should be fine for the primary. You might want to temporarily disconnect the old secondary HDD if it still has efi partition when first testing out the SSD boot. Sometimes the UEFI bootstrapper can get confused. Jack E/NJ    
    Jack E/NJ

FAQ & Answers

  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 59,005 Trailblazer
    Hello! About slowness, have you checked that the disk is 100% in the task manager?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • MarkoMarko Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    Hi,
    Thank you for yor quick replay.
    No my disk usage jumps from 0-20 when not i use,
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 22,284 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    You may replace the old 2.5" HDD with a 2.5" SSD, remove the DVD tray and mount the old HDD on a DVD caddy. You definitely want  UEFI bootstrap, not legacy BIOS. Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • MarkoMarko Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    edited July 2019
    Cool,
    Do i need some adapterr cable to connect old hdd insted of DVD
    thank you
  • MarkoMarko Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    Marko said:
    Cool,
    Do i need some adapterr cable to connect old hdd insted of DVD
    thank you

    And do i have M.2 slot so  can buy only tiny card to put OS on it
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 59,005 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    The hdd port and the hdd are integrated into the motherboard! Also, your notebook does not have a m2 door!
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 22,284 Trailblazer
    edited July 2019 Accepted Answer
    As    egydiocoelho   says, no m.2 slot. Google 'HDD Caddy'. You must have a caddy to replace the DVD with old 2.5" 1TB HDD if you also want to use a 2.5" SSD. Jack E/NJ

    Jack E/NJ
  • MarkoMarko Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    Hi,

    Thank you for you replay,

    I will do that. Caddy cost only £5 and I do not remember last time I used DVD.

    Thank you for you answers now only thing left is to find good SSD HDD for my laptop



  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 22,284 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    Go to this link for specs on compatible 2.5" SSDs. https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatible-upgrade-for/Acer/aspire-es1-521
    You don't have to purchase from them but they are competitive and usually guarantee what they recommend will work in your machine no questions asked. Jack E/NJ


    Jack E/NJ
  • MarkoMarko Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    edited July 2019

    Thank you.

    I just ordered from them.

    Benchmark results vs Kingston are much better.

    Thank you for your help. I will report when everything arrives and is installed.


    P.S.

    Is it ok if I just put new SSD drive in DVD slot and make it primary after cloning it or preformance will be better if I put it in old hdd slot?





  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 22,284 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    Either slot should be fine for the primary. You might want to temporarily disconnect the old secondary HDD if it still has efi partition when first testing out the SSD boot. Sometimes the UEFI bootstrapper can get confused. Jack E/NJ    
    Jack E/NJ
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online1.1K

Acer-Ingrid
Acer-Ingrid
Alapinta
Alapinta
aphanic
aphanic
asad1man
asad1man
Barthez
Barthez
batmalin
batmalin
caloy
caloy
Cr1stoUs
Cr1stoUs
Dog
Dog
DOGSR4LOVE
DOGSR4LOVE
EduardoMagnus
EduardoMagnus
egydiocoelho
egydiocoelho
EvilSh0k
EvilSh0k
IVAN_PC
IVAN_PC
Kostja77777777777
Kostja77777777777
mva1973
mva1973
nevi
nevi
PSASSIS
PSASSIS
rwm
rwm
SAhsanSB
SAhsanSB
Shanobye
Shanobye
SHINSHIN
SHINSHIN
SidGupta
SidGupta
ttttt
ttttt
Éricorj
Éricorj
+1.1K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos