Dual boot in SSD+HDD?

drasticpsych
drasticpsych Member Posts: 5

Tinkerer

edited November 2023 in 2019 Archives
I want to install parrot security os or kali Linux in my Predator Helios 300, I have windows 10 in my SSD  I need to install the Linux version in HDD , How to do this?
Windows 10 boots on Windows bootmgr!

Answers

• MaClane
    MaClane ACE Posts: 35,598 Trailblazer
    Good night drasticpsych !

Do you have advanced knowledge of security systems based on Linux architecture?
    You know that most parts of the Parrot and Kali tools only work by way of command, do not they?
    I am a Consultant and Security Analyst.

However, if you perform the installation in this way, you will have boot problems because the Windows Boot Manager will always try to boot first.

To perform a certain installation, you must partition the SSD (where your Windows is) and install in order, Parrot and then Kali.
    remember to reserve space because some updates of both can occupy much gigabytes.

That way Kali GRUB will manage all your bootable operating systems.

Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um Curtir, marque como Solucionado e clique em Promover!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

If my answer was helpful, leave a Like, flag as Fixed and click Promote!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

• sri369
    sri369 ACE Posts: 2,749 Pathfinder
    Simplifying what @MaClane said (with all due respect):

Partition windows installed SSD to make space for Linux (be generous in allocating space).
    Install Linux.
    Let Grub manage boot manager.

If you install Linux first and then Windows, will will take over and always boot into Windows.
    -----
    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve