Can predator helios 300 safely run VR?

ButteryBiscuits
ButteryBiscuits Member Posts: 4 New User
edited November 2023 in 2019 Archives
Hello everyone, I recently bought an oculus rift and got around to trying it on my laptop for the first time today. I'm new to PC gaming in general as this is also my first gaming laptop. Anyway, while trying out some games in VR I had someone check the CPU temp for me while I was gaming and they said it was hovering around 90-96 degrees Celcius. I checked once I was done and the max temp that had registered was actually 100 degrees Celcius. I know this is really high but I also read that gaming laptops tend to run hot. My question is should I be concerned about my laptop reaching these temperatures while gaming in VR or is it typical of gaming laptops to reach this temperature?
I have an Acer Predator Helios 300, game that pushed me to 100 D. Celcius was Skyrim VR
Specs are-
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 (laptop)
16 GB of RAM
Windows 10 64-bit, updated to date
I also undervolted my laptop before hand, have a cooling pad, use razor cortex, and disabled certain background settings/processes to free up some CPU usage. Any and all help/recommendations would be greatly appreciated 

Answers

• ven98
    ven98 ACE Posts: 4,073 Pathfinder
    It isn't normal for the CPU to reach 100C, so if undervolting and having a cooling doesn't help, then I would advice to either repaste(voids warranty) or contact Acer.

What is the CPU usage, while you are playing Skyrim VR and reaching these temperatures?
    Always post the following characterisitcs of the device:
    -Model number
    -Part number(not required, but helpful)
    -CPU
    -GPU
    -Operating system

Helios 300 and Nitro 5 users DO NOT update the BIOS to version 1.22 if you don't want the keyboard's backlight to turn off after 30 seconds even when the device is plugged in.

Hit 'Like' if you find the answer helpful!