Good video card upgrade for Gateway DX4860

Options
Pacman750
Pacman750 Member Posts: 1 New User
I'm wondering if anyone knows what the best video card upgrade would be on a Gateway DX4860. I recently tried installing an MSI Radeon RX 570 8Gb card and I kept getting error code 43 in device manager, so I think it's probably out of my motherboard's league. Any help would be appreciated.

Answers

• JordanB
    JordanB ACE Posts: 3,729 Pathfinder
    edited February 2019
    Options
    @Pacman750

I'm not very good at troubleshooting video cards, but I'll give you a link so you can see what other people have installed in their DX4860.  I would pay close attention to what BIOS version they are running (in the link below).  Some are possibly running different series of Intel motherboards, but you should be able to figure out if someone has your same motherboard by their BIOS date.

To check your BIOS date......

1. Right click on the Windows start button.
    2. Left click on Run
    3. Type msinfo32
    4. Click ok.

Important Note:  Most of the people in link below have probably upgraded their power supply.  And there's always a slight chance they had to jury-rig their computer to get some of the bigger cards to fit....e.g. disconnect a cable so the card would fit.  

Someone is running a RX 570, but not sure if they have your same motherboard.  Good luck!

https://www.userbenchmark.com/System/Gateway-DX4860/1415
    I'm not an Acer employee.
  • BPCD1999
    BPCD1999 Member Posts: 14

Tinkerer

Options
    As a Gateway DX4860 owner here. ZOTAC's GeForce RTX 2060 is compatible with the DX4860 as I have one installed in mine now and don't have any issues with it. I would recommend NVIDIA GPU for your computer
  • BPCD1999
    BPCD1999 Member Posts: 14

Tinkerer

Options
    Proof that the RTX 2060 is compatible with the DX4860:

• Moochiek
    Moochiek Member Posts: 1 New User
    Options