Acer Aspire E 5 model: Broken hinge problem, AGAIN!!

kimmy97
kimmy97 Member Posts: 2 New User
It is frustrating enough that I went through TWO Acer laptops already and the same problem happened again only within 8 months of use.
Mine is the Acer Aspire E5-575 model with i5-7200 CPU and 8gb ram with 1TB hard drive. It was at a reasonable price with all the functions I needed. As a student, I did not want to drop over 800$ at the time, so this was perfect for me. However, after just a couple months of use, my right side near the adapter plug-in began to crackle everytime the screen was open and closed. This gradually led to the screen assembly itself (cheap plastic) spreading apart and now I have a completely broken hinge that won't allow me to close my laptop without BREAKING the entire screen assembly. As I begin to research this problem I came to find that this was something that has happened to almost every acer laptop no matter the price or type.

As a student, I really do not wish to drop more money on this SECOND laptop which I bought to replace my preivous one that was malfunctioning due to the exact same hinge problem I described. I could not find any local shops around that were able to repair this, so I had to spend more money to buy this new one. I'm extremely upset and disappointed in Acer and their inability to fix this problem. Planned obsolescence, I know. But this is too much. This is clearly a manufacturers defect, and I think ACER is obligated to fix this issue without any cost to the customer. How can the hinge integrity be compromised in such short period of time? I find this perplexing because I have owned other laptops that I have treated very poorly and still functioned better and lasted longer than this.

Ridiculous and feeling torn right now. I hope I can get some help/resolution here.

Answers

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,445 Trailblazer